Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Astronaut Runner

by CristianBatista - Jam Entry

This game was created for the 34th event Ludum Dare, the objective of the game is to destroy asteroids for buy power up for destroy more asteroids for buy more power up...
The controls are simply, elevate pressing space and left click for shooting.
Every 10 seconds there is a wave with 10 asteroids each one.
Each asteroids gives 10 credits.
The whole game was created by Cristian Batista Herrera.
Contact: Cristianbatista@outlook.es

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#431Audio(Jam)3.17
#703Graphics(Jam)3.08
#764Theme(Jam)3.36
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#848Fun(Jam)2.72
#953Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:12am

Overall fun, some graphics are great, others are bad... Feels uneaven I shall say, but the game itself is fun to play, and the two button inputs are respected :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

I must say that the WebGL break my graphics, if you can download it, you should

Zknet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16am

The main menu screen is fantastic.

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16am

Lovely rocks and explosions.

NotNewAnymore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20am

The game is good, but then it gets to easy once you get all the upgrades, which are under priced.

Logicon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22am

Graphics and music are fantastic.
I visited the store first and spent the 10,000 credits you start with. This let me have enough powerups to make the game very very easy, especially given that triple shot can be bought right away.
Good job :)

Suui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:25am

Hahahaha, it was really great!
I liked the graphics and laughed quite a bit.

Just that the character is kinda teleporting all up all down towards wave 40+ lolz

mukult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26am

Love the sounds and particle effects...
The sfx are very satisfying!!

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:45am

Nice touch with the online high scores :).

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Nice graphics, control uninteresting, top members on points and completely banal mechanics - no innovation, everything, "the old fashioned way."

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

It's so fun when you get all the powerups :o)
There's something that says "Keep playing"

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56am

I like it this game, the music and graphics are beautiful. Nice one bro.

Geck0 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:02pm

Nice particles and sound effects :D

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:05pm

I liked the high score and the in game store for upgrades. Really simple, I think you need to balance more.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:16am

Cool game. The asteroid model was great but some of the other graphics didn't really match and created an uneven tone to the whole thing.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]