Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Potbelly Parasite

by felilix - Jam Entry

You play as Hellminth, a parasitic worm who must stop Dayne, a jerk real estate agent from selling your home - the manure farm.

Live in Daynes stomach, eat what he eats and see what a terrible person he is.

Watch out for his immune system and make sure you eat enough before midnight to save your home!


Art/Voice 'talent': Rosie Picton
Story/Voice 'talent': Sean Picton
Programming/Voice 'talent': John Garrad

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#139Humor(Jam)3.56
#313Audio(Jam)3.38
#579Innovation(Jam)3.04
#627Mood(Jam)3.08
#656Theme(Jam)3.54
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#703Graphics(Jam)3.08
#739Overall(Jam)3.08

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46am

Very original idea :D

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43pm

HAHA WTF xD fun game

bering says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Really funny! I'm keeping this bookmarked for later, I want to hear the whole story :-)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:49am

This is hillarious xD
Really nice,
good job!

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:07am

Haha, gross...

While the gameplay was a bit simplistic and easy, it was great listening to the story!

Xanjos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:38pm

Damn, Dayne is such a massive c*** :V but this was absolutely hilarious to play and I really liked the banter that was going on.

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:38pm

too bad nothing happens after you reach maximum size.

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:48am

Game looked good and played well, but I was not a fan of the audio or the hosting website.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:12am

Hilarious. My one gripe is, the gameplay pretty much breaks at the end - your lasers come out of your mouth, so you can't zap pills once you're big enough to fill the entire stomach. Also, the finale seems to be bugged - the dialogue for the final segment repeated right before the chestbursting climax. Might wanna fix that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]