Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Durples Christmas Adventure

by wuppy29 - Compo Entry

Here is my submission for my first Ludum Dare.

Durples Christmas Adventure is a 2D sidescroller platformer which includes both the Growing as well as the Two button controls theme. It's also loosely Christmas themed.

I wrote this game entirely from scratch (did not even have an engine yet) using C++ with SDL.

As the ReadMe mentions, if you get an error saying "Missing MSVCP140.ddl & VCRUNTIME140.dll" please install Microsft Visual C++ 2015 Redistributable by double clicking the included vc_resit.x86.

Edit. I've updated the game, fixing a problem where the game's difficulty depended on the Hz of your monitor. I've also fixed a problem regarding the collision with pickups.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#185Humor3.09
#317Theme3.92
#380Innovation3.32
#416Mood3.05
#441Fun3.21
#446Overall3.28
#504Audio2.59
#749Graphics2.56

Comments

Ybalrid says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27am

Fit both themes AND the holyday season. A bit hard at first, but interesting concept

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34am

Good and hard to start,, fun

fakefrogsonly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40am

I found the game way too difficult to get into properly, there was not enough time in between obstacles to change your size.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:20pm

A fun and innovative little game with good level difficulty progression and a lot of interesting mechanics. If you were to take this further, all it would need would be a graphical touch-up, some music, and some sort of menu system. Past that, you could just add as much content as you wanted.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Even though you included an installer for VC++, it's gonna make a lot of people not play this. Which is bad, because it's a really fun little game, and also your first ludum entry.
Also kudos for making your own engine. That might not show on the final product, but it's something I personally like and was reflected in my voting, after some source code diving.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Clever alignment with the theme! Once I got jumping I had a few instances where I didn't notice that I ran out of jumps. Also I can't grow or shrink when not on the ground seemed weird. I got a little confused that some wall dies weren't ok to touch and some were. I guess I really liked this, but the biggest complaint is that it feels like a memorization of what obstacle is coming up rather than reacting to things.

ccglp says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Nice concept, I will love to see the game finished with more puzzles or interaction with the main gameplay!

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Thanks for all the great feedback :)
@fakefrogsonly, do you have a 144Hz monitor?
@Reggianito, I agree that having an installer is annoying, but as far as I know there is no way around it when using C++.
@ccglp & @alyphen, I'm certainly considering making this game fully.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08am

Quite a decent game :)

SusanTheCat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:02am

Yay Christmas!

Luxorix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:37am

Good idea!

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:53pm

Really interesting game. i like the use of the theme, and overall it was pretty fun.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:01pm

You are allowed to fix bugs - if the game is unplayable, so long as you don't make changes to the gameplay itself.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:32pm

I haven't seen many games that used both themes and were also Christmas themed. Good Job!

wuppy29 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:43pm

@speciesUnknown
Thanks for the info, I've uploaded a new version which fixes the Hz problem as well as a small mistake in my pickup collision code.

Phobos001 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Well designed levels that merge well with the mechanics and allow for some tricky obstacles. Nicely done!

shahid says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:28pm

Well done! Not bad at all. Rock hard, but fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]