Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

ANTI-THUNDER

by jamaster96 - Compo Entry

Play a plants' adventure! Battle friends or bots in a race to the stars!

This is technically competitive button mashing, but the less you mash, the less obstacles you will hit!

FOR BEST RESULTS MAKE THE SCREEN REALLY BIG!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#687Humor1.67
#708Theme3.41
#841Graphics2.24
#848Mood2.05
#905Innovation2.15
#948Fun2.02
#958Overall2.21

Comments

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:02pm

Not much to do here, but I love that it has local multiplayer =). A little sound would go a long way.

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Interesting concept, could do with some audio but the controls respond well and it's a great take on both themes. Nice game :)

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I failed to understand the game :(

A screen explaining the rules would be nice...

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:13pm

No tuto, but I like the concept (and the multi).

Zetym says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Failed to see the challenge, what is that prevents (or should prevent) it from being pure button mashing?

Also missing a restart/back to menu button. Having to restart the executable to start a new round is a drag.

kailijan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

Well done. You took the theme and made a cool little game. You could improve it by adding a tutorial and some sound, though.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:36pm

Restart button was thought of, but it was also fogotten :( This is technically competitive button mashing, but the less you mash, the less obstacles you will hit!

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47pm

I liked it, though my keyboard didn't ;) inventive use of both themes to make a multiplayer button-masher!

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Playing on a Win7, the main menu doesn't display properly and something keeps flying around.

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50pm

I've had a hard time understanding what I was doing. If you (like me) didn't had time to make an in game tutorial, you could include a readme.txt explaining the game, or adding it here in the game description.

Also sound would be really nice. You could use to improve player-game feedback.

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53pm

My right hand beat my left hand! 180Mb for game of such kind is overmuch, imho.

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Ah, a good old-fashioned button masher
Not something I'm used to seeing, but well implemented

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14pm

+ 1 for the local multiplayer

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26pm

As pretty as this game is, the interface is fairly counter-intuitive to use. Make text bigger and put controls in a closely-grouped logical progression.
The gameplay, for a button masher, is alright. The plant growth is fairly smooth, but it can be a little difficult to understand what you're doing.
As others have mentioned, having audio is a huge improvement on a game and many underestimate it's potential. This is the first obvious improvement you should make.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33pm

I'm all for competitive button mashing and local multiplayer! I agree with Jimbly, a little sound would really help. Need to work out the resolution issues as well.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Maybe I don't get it 'cause I didn't play with someone else. The game seemed to hang every time after I got to a certain height. The mechanics are nicely on theme, though.

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:55am

Pretty confusing at the beginning. Some kind of tutorial at the beginning would be nice. Either way great game

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Hmmm... mechanics were a little obtuse for me. I need to button smash to win but is it ever strategically better to not smash to avoid the lightning? Maybe it would be more interesting if we saw the lightning charging up so we had something to react to rather than just randomly encounter with no visual legibility of whether we get hit or not. Nice concept, and yay for local multiplayer!

smbe19 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49pm

Those red things seem a bit random.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Just didn't get. You missed a tutorial there..

Gins says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:55pm

I don't think I understood what was going on, but maybe it's more fun when you have friends to play with you :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]