Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Robopocalypse

by windwarrior - Jam Entry

Once a beautiful planet, now deserted. One robot survives, it is your task, as a programmer, to program this one robot. Build your own robotic empire!

Programming goes via the program button, but, like a programmer, you have to input commands in binary. Using two buttons you cannot generate more then one command, right? Well you can! Buy "Commands 1" to input multiple bit and unlock tech to mine more resources.

Think the robot is too slow? Unlock "Drive speed" upgrades to increase speed of your robots.

Just want to command an army of bots, unlock "RobotFactory" which allows you to buy more bots.


We created this game during the weekend with somewhere in between 1 to 5 people, sometimes a person could not make it so I would say on average 3 at any given moment :). We hope that you enjoy!

--Le JeMaNiKi and AG

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26pm

It was a bit unresponsive with button presses, which got angering, however I loved this concept of robots, it was great!

Capitals says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33am

While I can see it is quite a deep and big resource manager, It lacks a proper tutorial. Game looks nice. Good Luck!

windwarrior says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:29am

We absolutely agree, Capitals, we will take that into account for the next LD :). Readme's don't just cut it in the current game world indeed.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Well done!

epicTCK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Pretty good except for the non-working buttons. GUI needs a little work. Other than that, this could be played for days and could a very good game with a little refinement. Love the coke bottles (:

Tragon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Looks like someone learned about path finding and wanted to test it. Keep learning and trying to do new stuff :)

The game itself unfortunately is a bit lacking:
-No win or fail state
-Lags on the robot screen
-Programming the robots was nice for the first few but tedious when every one was build
-A single tab for programming and current task would have been better. The Inventory itself could have been left out

Feels like one of those many poor Smartphone ports for PC, especially with the controls :(

windwarrior says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Thanks again for playing this game, we really like getting feedback :).

The UI is horrible, we know, we used EZGUI, which is a thing on top of Phaser, but it sadly doesnt cut it. We should have sticked with either bare HTML overlays, or picked our library more carefully. EZGUI gave us all headaches and in the end that shows in the result :(. Its just not designed for the type of GUI we wanted to create, and its focus on smartphones was not something we needed anyway. That shows in the result and took most of the time of one of our programmers. We like recommendations for UI libraries on Javascript games :)!

@Tragon, we first came up with the concept, it was only sensible to put some sort of pathfinding in this game :).

Masuno says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:59am

I can see this becoming a very interesting resource management sim.

@windwarrior, if you plan to expand on this, perhaps you can make this into a kind of educational (god, why'd that word take so long to get to me) game. Maybe it could be used to teach people binary (maybe, instead of giving us a command list, it could be, "to mine stone, you need a binary value equalling 5 in decimal), or, perhaps, basic programming. Maybe even BASIC programming. Ha. Programming puns are the best.

In its current state, though, it's very understandably lackluster... even if it is fun for a bit. I'd really look into making this bigger and better.

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:07am

Very cool, surprisingly not the only game using binary input.

astrophics says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:21am

Cool little game!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]