Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Star Feast

by propter_ludus - Jam Entry

Star Feast has you as a cute, pink creature hurtling through space eating stars.

I tried to incorporate both themes of "Growing" and "Two Button Controls" into the game. I really enjoyed making this.

Let me know what you think! All criticism is welcome. Please bear in mind that I was only able to work on it one full day out of the three.

Team:
Simon Dansereau: Design
Thu Khuu: Art

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#239Fun(Jam)3.52
#272Graphics(Jam)3.89
#299Audio(Jam)3.41
#313Humor(Jam)3.00
#377Overall(Jam)3.46
#750Innovation(Jam)2.77

Comments

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31am

Nice! I loved the music, using both themes was well incorporated. Graphics were awesome too. Great job!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:37am

I really liked this game, the graphics are cute and I found myself playing it over and over again to see how long I could survive. Nice Job!

MakerArt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:45am

It is Soooooooooo cute! Space and cutenes is the winning choice ;)

Collors is great!

Growing is wellfeet here! Sound and music is cool.
I'd like to use mouse there.

Anyway - graphics, theme, fun and mood - are on top!

Good luck! Have a fun!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50am

Pretty cool game I managed to get to 200. I felt it was a bit slow and difficult starting off, but once you get into the flow the difficulty evens out a bit. The art was nice. There was a weird short burst of static every time I lost though.

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:36am

Love the music.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:39am

oh my god it is so cute! simple but fun gameplay and good use of both themes!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16pm

The pink creature is so cute :) I really enjoyed this game, the gameplay is simple but efficient, you made a great job!

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:19pm

This game is simple but works well. My only frustration was that even if I was big, the asteroids still kill me.
Good job!

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:22am

nice little game, i didnt realize i could go move to the other side of the screen till it was too late. :D

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04pm

<3 It's so cute I'm gonna die! <3 *girly happiness in my team*

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:49pm

First of all is a little too slow, I have to wait so long to reach some stars... But it reminds me of some old games, and that character is so cute, all of the interface is adorable!

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12pm

nice little game there. The look on its face when I run into something is priceless.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:35am

Cool game! I felt like the inertia on the player made it really tough to play, but I'm sure with more practice I will get the hang of it :) Good work!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:27pm

It looks good, the graphics are fine, game is simple and easy! It is so cute! Good job!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:46pm

it looks very cute!

Wakefield says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:55am

Simple but fun, with nice art and lovely music. Liked a lot! Congrats for this!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]