Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Scoot and the House of Ill Repute

by Krafty - Jam Entry

Super Scoot needs to run, jump, and shoot his way past Mama Bertha and her three chambers of terror in order to reclaim his honor and ability to control which direction he runs. Press X to jump and Z to shoot, and don't run into the crates!

Programming - Steve Kraft (https://twitter.com/kraftydinosaur)
Art & Music - Noah Eng
Sound FX & Testing - Josh Coneby

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#175Fun(Jam)3.62
#223Audio(Jam)3.54
#292Overall(Jam)3.55
#422Humor(Jam)2.80
#480Theme(Jam)3.71
#492Graphics(Jam)3.50
#507Mood(Jam)3.22
#686Innovation(Jam)2.89

Comments

mockthebear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:49am

man. i really loved this! I will save to play again later.
I think if you are planning to continue this game you should do this:
When you die, dont reset the music

Sokar92 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:00am

I love it, it's funny and fun! You have my vote!

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:10am

Awww nice game ! I love the artwork, retro and small sprites. And the gameplay is really good, a pretty nice use of the theme. It feel like an early 90's pc game. Great job :)

4burner says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:12am

Nicely done. I suck at this and can't really get past the first level, but overall the execution is nice.

LordKawaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58am

Great name and fun game! :0)

kostak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:03pm

This is the first game which I liked in this jam.
Good dude, and you have the right tools. Good luck in the contest!

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:11pm

A really cute game, got a bit frustrated because I couldn't get any further than halfway the first level. But fun overall.

yajiv says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:35am

Cute music/sfx. I'm terrible at the game tho haha. I think it's because the jump and shoot keys felt reversed to me

radmars says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36am

Wow this is really brutal. Nicely executed but so so so hard! More checkpoints & a gentler ramp up of difficulty would help here.

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48am

Great game! Controls were very tight. There were a few times where the hitboxes didn't make sense. I died coming down on the corner of a box and once when I jumped clean over a monster. It was very fun and I could see myself playing it again.

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:32am

Really difficult game but I couldn't help but try over and over again. Really simple but great polish and a lot of fun. Sounds and visuals blended really well. Well done.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:33am

Thanks a bunch you guys! We'll take the criticisms into consideration for the next version :) but i doubt the difficulty will be going down, maybe a gentler difficulty curve =P

RhysD says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:16am

Fun game, kept me playing for a while even though I sucked at it :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:27am

Catchy tune that didn't get old. Nice minimalist graphics.

I'm going to beat this game, I will. Just not now... haven't broke past the first level, 8420 points though. I'd say the difficulty is what makes it fun, and I appreciate the little details in the level design that make it difficult. Majority of the errors, was my own fault, and I like that.

gg

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:28pm

Cool interpretation of the theme. Did you make the soundtrack yourself?

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:35pm

@DinnerInTheDark Thanks! We did, it was a lot of fun :)

sirono says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:12pm

It is chanllenging! And good sound effects, The main title can be do better

LazyDev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Liked your monsters. Didn't finish first level.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Really love the thematic consistency of your entry! Everything, from the concept, to audio and graphics melded perfectly. Although the dragon kinda stuck out in a weird way, since it had a richer palette and more details. I personally think that it would have made more sense to keep him as minimalistic as the rest of the assets.

Fun and well balanced (and gorgeous too!). Good job!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:25pm

@Crashmore Studios Thanks! Maybe we should change her, but I kind of like how creepy/awkward the dragon looks =P You're right though, consistency with the resolution of the sprites is important in games that involve pixel art. Your game was super fun!

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:47am

Whoa! Really great entry, albeit a bit tough. Awesome job picking a good clean design with a very appropriate scope.

Anachron says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:33am

This is so fun but I dunno maybe impossible. Would love to see level 2 but am not worthy... yet. I pity your beta testers.

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:39am

This game was surprisingly fun for how simple it is! Only problem is, it's very hard! I think instead of starting the level over when you die, it might be better to start again where died. Audio was very nice, and the graphics (as tiny as they were) got the job done. Great work!

rjhelms says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:54am

This is super challenging, but all in all a well put-together package. Good job!

mendi says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:55pm

great mate!

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:46pm

I love retro style! It's so hard. Very well done!

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:11am

Loved the old school theme. Do yourself an adaptation to modern games: Save Points and infinite lifes. Lifes in games were made to make people spend cash in arcade. Times changed.

Krafty says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:57am

Thanks everyone for the kind comments!

@nunesbarbosa Thanks for your input! At this current time we felt that the game was short enough to make save points unnecessary. We'll probably add them in the future if we have more levels. The lives system was mainly implemented to make the coins more useful, giving you a life after 50. I think that they are appropriate in this game, as it creates the challenge of having the player finish all three levels with a limited number of deaths they can take. Similar to the lives in games like Super Mario Bros, allowing the player to optimize their gameplay strategy, giving a more satisfying feel of accomplishment when they finally reach the end. We still have plans for improvement in the next version that will make the game feel a little more fair. =P

Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:48am

Frustratingly difficult but so fun it's totally okay. Solid on gameplay and graphics, although music got a bit jarring eventually (too short of a loop) and I'd like to be able to go full screen or at least up the display resolution.

Dracir says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Wow! Great Idea! Boy it's hard! Well done!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Neat game, I liked how you can see the whole map. Was a little confused at first because I didn't know where I was, so just looked around for a dead guy :P Good job.

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 12:23pm

Funny thing, but too hardcore for me, only got to third row, where orange creature shot me down :-) Nice idea anyway! I also hope you won't do an installer next time...

randomhuman says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:49pm

OMG so hard. Fun and addictive though.

zenmumbler says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:49pm

This game felt like MSX games but with a larger viewport. It is old-school in many ways and the graphics and music really evoke that era. The unforgiving gameplay does too though and it reminds us why we no longer make games this way :)

As an homage though, this is quite excellently done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]