Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Natura

by Eldraev - Jam Entry

Help Natura and restore the corrupted land in this 2d runner. Use W for jumping and E for activating collected powerups. All sprites are based on traditional art. The game has no saves so you will sadly lose your highscores. If you play at a lower resolution some GUI elements might get cut off.

If you can, play the web version as it is less buggy than the downloadable version.

Code by https://twitter.com/Eldraev
Art by https://twitter.com/SaraNyaannyan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Mood(Jam)4.24
#48Audio(Jam)4.09
#51Graphics(Jam)4.52
#95Overall(Jam)3.87
#198Fun(Jam)3.57
#346Humor(Jam)2.94
#573Theme(Jam)3.61
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

timburbank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:54am

This is so much fun and the artwork is fantastic! I do wish it had a faster death reset, cause I die...kinda a lot. However the procedural level design makes death less frustrating cause you're not replaying the same area repeatedly.

Andrew Patton says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32pm

This is an awesome game! Very challenging also. The art and music is excellent. I really like how the grass appears behind you.

Taffaz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:16pm

Really enjoyed this. The art style was great and the level generation tricky but fun.

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

Nice work ! The real' is good and the music is cool to hear too :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Great level generation, adorable artwork, I love how the level changes as you walk. It seems like the jumping is finicky, though. It would be nice if the player had health instead of dying instantly.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Artwork and Audio is good, I like the way you change the song when the character dies pretty effective. It's hard but not frustrating. Overall one of the better games I have played.

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:54pm

Wow, really cool game!

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Aww maaan I'm in love with the graphics <3 SOO CUTE!!! and its fun to play, great job! :D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

The game was very fun, although you die a lot, you want to keep playing.
The time to restart the level is too long, but it's good to play different levels in the same stage. The way the character jumps is also a bit clunky.
Anyway, a very cute game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:02am

Jumping mechanics were a bit too strict but I love the hand drawn art plus I like how the audio slows down when you die.

nodens says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04am

This game is super charming. I really loved the art direction for this. I'm not very good at it, but it I really liked this.

elliottd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:09am

everything having a flowery state as you walk over it is pretty fun. nice work on all the hand drawn art

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12am

Loved the aesthetic. Combining something hand drawn with something procedural gave it a really interesting and pleasant feeling. Everything looked great so sometimes I just sat and watched the you lose screen so I can watch the clouds go by. The music was a perfect match for the mood and style. This game really made me smile :) Great job!

adamyounis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:38am

A really fun take on the 1-button runner. I enjoyed how your incorporated the theme visually and little touches like the parallax effect on the background shows you know what you're doing. Your art style is very unconventional but it works well here. The music was also great. Though the game was quite unforgiving and difficult to tell where my hitbox was, I had fun. Good job overall.

NoGrapes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:37am

This game was fun. Love the overall style of the game and the art. It's a bit difficult but not impossible once you play it a few times. Good job!

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:55am

Very cute game! I loved the art style, character designs, how the backgrounds changed. Level design was just challenging enough to feel satisfied with each obstacle I conquered. I really just want to explore this type of world. :( Was sad after I completed the last stage cause I wanted more.

oz2mura says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:56am

Also the audio really set a nice mood, and even creepier mood when death occurred, great idea!

euske says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Adorable graphics but the gameplay was very unforgiving. I almost regretted getting the flying powerup as it suddenly disappears without no indication!

OwT says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:14pm

I really like the traditional-like drawings with that beautiful colours, it's really pretty! Music is so cute, but a little bit scary in the end, when it's "game over". I died a lot of times, but it's very fun even with the all game over's xd I like the concept with the nature and cute animations, good job!

Jan 11, 2016 @ 12:13am

Very cute game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EnuG74cyOfk

TaoPhoenix says ...
Feb 9, 2016 @ 9:52am

Very cute indeed!

The balancing looks decent - I'm no platformer but I made it to level 2 just past the whale.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]