Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aukan and the Sacred Sprout

by matiasbontempo - Jam Entry

We finally did it! We wanted to participate for the first time in a Ludum and we did our best. We know this is far from perfect, but we did it!

Software used:
GameMaker
Photoshop
GarageBand

Team Members:
Amaya Agustin (Music)
Bontempo Matias (Programming)
Limia Alejandro (Graphics)
Oshiro Vanesa

Hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#505Audio(Jam)3.03
#631Graphics(Jam)3.22
#927Mood(Jam)2.48
#994Fun(Jam)2.41
#1010Theme(Jam)2.71
#1024Overall(Jam)2.63

Comments

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:04am

Tried your game on Windows 8 but it was just a black screen when I opened it. Tried to restart but it still didn't work.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Sorry about that! I'll try to take a look at this.

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Nice graphics and the music was catchy. I wish the enemies had a more clear indication of where their attacks were landing. It made it hard to dodge/counter when you can't see the hits. I made it past full-grown tree stage though! : D

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:26am

Thanks Garris! I agree with you. We'll take that into account for the next time.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Zamba?

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:54pm

I really like the art style. the controls felt very clunky though and the jump didn't feel right.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:20am

Nicely done. I liked the scrolling background, and smooth animations.

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Nice drawings and animations! Controls feels a little unresponsive. Catchy music. But... Why I have to beat up such cute little ginger kids?!? :D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:34am

Nice graphics and catchy music!
Maybe some more feedback when getting hit/hitting an enemy
but yeah good job! :)

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Cool game! Music was nice. I just BARELY won. There was a sliver of health left right at the end and a giant axeman right there ready to tear the statue down... omg...

I did find a few bugs, though they might have been because I was playing the game in WINE. First, the wave numbers and enemy count seemed wrong. Second, I actually moved all the way off the screen on the far left and couldn't get back on.

Still, nice game!

puppetmaster says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Love the drawing off the main character and the enemy.
Well done!!

hyperscope says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:26pm

Combat was clunky as I was not certain of my, or the enemies range along with the hit-boxes. If I could be given the opportunity to time attacks at the right moment it would be great. It also might be nice to see hit points and the freeze cool down time. It would also be nice to see more player feedback. Good job working as a team y'all!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:03am

I've never been struck by an axe, but this little boy leads me to believe it doesn't hurt as much as I thought it would. Good entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]