Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Growing Diseases

by FlatPivot - Jam Entry

I used the the theme "Growing" by showing the growing diseases inside a human which is cause by smoking.

You play as the immune system of the body and your job is to protect the internal organs , you have a gun that shoots white blood cells and it heals the infected body parts.

Controls :-

Use your mouse pointer to point the gun in a direction
Left mouse button to shoot
Space to jump

Music By : http://teknoaxe.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#243Humor(Jam)3.19
#496Mood(Jam)3.23
#533Audio(Jam)2.96
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96
#656Graphics(Jam)3.17
#718Fun(Jam)2.91
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#899Theme(Jam)3.09
#1562Coolness45%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:10am

I like the art style. A bit eccentric, but that's what makes it interesting.

ElliotFiske says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07am

Fun game, it controls really smoothly and has awesome juicy screen shake, particle effects and overall graphics.

I'm a little confused why the camera zoomed in on me when I jumped, though, that seemed kinda like a bug. And it'd be great to have a little more feedback if my attacks are working or not.. Am I supposed to hit the little germ-turrets, or the lungs?

Good game overall!

FlatPivot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

You are supposed to hit everything including lungs , as that would heal them , they are taking damage constantly if they get dark, they explode if you loose both lungs , you lose the game ,also you should shoot the growing cough as they would drop poisonous drops on you once they are fully grown and shooting them would push them back. also you can't shoot the ulcers but you can kill the red flying attackers.

Also that zoom in and zoom out is if you want to see the full body , you stay at the bottom. it is intentional , not a bug. :)

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:18am

Playing as the immune system is a very interesting perspective. Well done!

danbolt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25am

I really liked the cigarette brands you made up! The progragonist was super cute too. Overall, the idea of the game is exciting, and the action was well-played out.

I didn't exactly notice the green infection at first, and thought I had to shoot at the enemies firing at me, so I did badly the first time. Once I started battling infection I did okay, but juggling it with the dodging/plaforming was a bit overwhelming!

I had fun overall though. Thanks for uploading! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:38am

Cool game overall! A little more guidance on what to be shooting at the start would help.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04am

Am I the only one who had to play twice to notice the green stuff crawling down from the top of the screen? Also, I assumed the organs were just there to block your shots; I didn't notice any effect from shooting them.

Also, the zoom effect when you're off the ground is annoying and disruptive.

Shashank says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Superb Game ..Loved the concept and well designed.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:39am

Nice work. It's funny play like a white blood cell!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57pm

I will newer smoke after this, haha!

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Controls and art are really good and you did an intro which is cool. I had some problems understanding whats going on though.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Surely an interesting interpretation of the theme. Nice work.

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Nice game with a good social message.
Improvements when the red box comes towards the white guy and when it is very near i try to shoot it, but dont know i had shot it or it hit me, some diff visual indication will be nice.
Loved the game over scene text.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Nice game with smooth controls and graphics. Objective was confusing at first, thought I just had to shoot the red things, but after I figured it out I lasted quite a while :) Didn't like the camera zooming on jump, assuming it was something to do with those platforms but was quite distracting. Good entry nevertheless!

herniewise says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:02pm

Liked a lot the take on the theme :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]