Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Colony Grow

by intchanter - Jam Entry

Your job: Grow a sustainable colony on a remote world. Create buildings to generate resources so you can support more people.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#979Theme(Jam)2.85
#1080Overall(Jam)2.46
#1087Fun(Jam)1.88

Comments

intchanter says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

This is our first time participating in Ludum Dare, so it's a bit rough, but we hope you enjoy it and we look forward to participating again in the future.

Move127 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36am

It would be nice to know more about each building. As it is, the player doesn't know what each building will cost or how much it will produce.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43am

There isn't a lot of information on how to play the game. I looks really good.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:49am

It was fun! It could be nice to see this as a fully developed project! :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:25am

Your game really needs some sort of info about each building. A tooltip would be good, or at least some sort of tutorial or info in the description before I start.

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:14am

Just got colony to the state where I don't need to manage resources anymore, people earn more than they need.
I like it. Need enemies, need more problems for the player, need tutorial, need costs. Overall, pretty decent game.

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:14pm

I wish there were more info on how to play it. Keep participating on the next ones! Colony Grow looks nice!

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Fun to play but I would like it to be 10 times faster

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:30pm

game is hard to understand

Stuntddude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:42pm

This game might be good, but I shouldn't have to restart 5+ times to find out! Some explanation - any explanation at all - would help immensely to avoid the needless repetition required to figure out what's even going on. And once you grow the colony to a stable size (after several restarts and a lot of waiting), there's no particular reason to continue.

Also, a small bug, sometimes the game places a building on a different tile than the one I clicked on, including sometimes on top of other existing buildings.

trexmix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:22am

Great base, but very very confusing without a tutorial.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:08am

Welp! That was tough. :)

It took me forever to figure out that greenhouses produce air.

They *are* the ones that produce air, right?

This is a pretty good base concept, it's just hard to enjoy because it isn't very easy to figure out how to play. I think a few things, like a tutorial or instructions, would make it a lot better.

I also think it would be good if it was possible to destroy buildings.

Overall, the graphics are good and the gameplay is okay, it just isn't very intuitive. :)

Blobo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:13am

there isn't any information telling what each building does/costs/is. also, i somehow put a house on the same tile as a mine. i dont think that was supposed to happen.

AtkinsSJ says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Looks great, could be fun, but after a couple of attempts I don't know how to play.

You say it's your first time, and my first attempts at LD were awful and unfinished. It's easy to run out of time before you get used to it. I look forward to seeing what you make next time. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]