Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SPACE DILEMMA

by argowen - Compo Entry

SPACE DILEMMA is a Two-Button game where you have to destroy asteroids and other spaceships to entice the Boss to appear. Complete the game and it unlocks and unlimited Survival mode where ever 25,000 points creates a tougher boss.

Core game was created using Construct 2 Personal (brought it for the event never used it before usually work in C#/C++/.NET etc so wanted a different challenge).
Graphics all done with Paint.NET
Audio all my voice with a lot of usage of Audacity quite surprised how well they came out.

Can be played via the web at:
http://euridian.com/ld34_webtest/index.html
(embed didn't work very well however can be played from my site)

LINUX & OS/X versions are provided as is Windows versions have been tested.
All OS version include both x32 and x64 versions.

This is my first Ludum Dare and also first GameJam of any type main goal was to complete a project within a timeframe and not get distracted with details and other stuff.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#447Graphics3.16
#509Audio2.58
#642Theme3.54
#675Humor1.80
#770Mood2.47
#814Overall2.80
#876Innovation2.33
#929Fun2.16

Comments

cescababs says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:42pm

A nippy little shooter love the graphics particularly the enemy ships wish I could vote........

psychonull says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:35am

nice little game. Too hard to shoot ships, maybe because they get behind you to fast, I think it could be improved by adding some AI on the enemies by going more "around" instead of attacking you all the time.
Well use of the theme for the 2 buttons control.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50am

Good job, but the game is very hard. I like the graphics and sound (I think it's cool that it's all your voice!) I would find myself getting frustrated because enemies would spawn right next to you and then kill you without having time to react. I'd suggest making the screen FOV higher.

AriaMK says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:51am

A little bit too difficult just starting out but neat concept!

ddoomus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:15am

Nice work. But maybe as you built it you developed too much skill because that game is super difficult.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:19am

Simple concept in a good way. Rather difficult. Good use of Audacity. Good work!

mr. a says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:20am

Oof, the difficulty's a bit high for me.

Two thoughts:
- Really wish I could see further out, or at least get a minimap with most object's locations.
- Mixing insta-kill with slow auto-fire and fast-turning is interesting, but feels kinda unforgiving. Letting the player restart by just tapping a button (e.g. "r") might help death feel less off-putting.

Quite impressed you made the sound effects with just your mouth -- I wouldn't have guessed.

Bloodyaugust says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24am

As a first Jam entry, well done and welcome! :D

The game was extremely difficult, due to the enemy ships tailing you so close and being nearly as fast. Turning to shoot them was nigh on impossible. The other, more minor complaint, is the audio. Very repetitive and in your face, with no way to mute it. Otherwise, nicely done!

KZdev says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:24am

I usually like hard games but this one is a bit too tough for me to get into. Great presentation though!

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:33am

That is mad tough! Hey, I noticed the jet flame changed sizes depending on which keys were hit, real nice touch I would've looked over. I'm surprised that was all your voice too, good work.

Reisen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:53am

A bit too hard; You cannot easily circle and shoot enemies, and you move so fast that there's no time to react to stuff.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57am

I don't want to dogpile you, but yeah, like others have mentioned *very* difficult with the combination of gameplay space size, speed of movement, and instadeath mechanics.
If you continue with this post-jam, probably worth tweaking one or more of these - even just having a healthbar would hugely change the gameplay experience

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:37am

First: game ran impossibly fast until I set my monitor to 60hz. 120hz (or faster) monitors might still be a bit of a luxury, but especially among gamers, they're far from unheard of these days.

Once I got it down to a speed I could actually control, fun little game. Bit hard to not crash into some of the things while shooting them, but I guess that's the challenge :)

AsixJin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Nice game but it was kinda hard to shoot anything. The wrapping screen caused me to run into things.

Darkflint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Well, like almost everyone before me said: too difficult, i only managed to gather some asteroids. But aside from that, a very good game.

argowen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:44pm

I am looking to make an updated version; I will be adding a few extra features stemming the difficulty "slightly" and only slightly don't want to make it too easy. as for the wrapping of the background this was akin to the old asteroids game how ever my latest idea is to have the player warp to the opposite side and instead of just getting destroyed I'd have the player ship telefrag objects within a certain range obviously all nicely animated etc.

eruiz00 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:22am

Hey hey hey... an 2D xwing. A thought about this much time ago, but something in which your ship goes more more more fast. Need polish AI, as enemies are too good. Well done.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]