Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The cursed Queen of Exobia

by gBouckaert - Jam Entry

Fight against an ever growing monster using your mighty spear to poke it's eyes out.



The mighty Queen of Exobia has fallen to a curse, and a giant, multi-eyed monster has been pouring out of the throne chamber. It will grow over the whole kingdom if you don't fight it back and save the Queen.







CONTROLS:

Left/Right arrow = Move

Spacebar = Jump

Shift = Attack

Up/Down = Move spear up/down

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#290Innovation(Jam)3.44
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#586Graphics(Jam)3.31
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#924Theme(Jam)3.00
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41pm

Very very nice atmosphere, and nice concept there ! It's simple, yet you want to go at it again and again. One of the best I've tested from this jam so far !
The game is very hard, as the monster grows quite fast, and sometimes it feels you die without being in the bad zone.

Is there an end to the game ?

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:43pm

Very nice artwork! I found that I had to get really close to actually stab the eyes, then my guy ran so fast that I'd always accidentally run into the monster. Not as easy as it seems

pokipsy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Nice game !
Just a bit too difficult IMO :p

Lusmu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48pm

Nice, if a bit too hard. The slight movement forward when attacking is kind of annoying when you would really want to stay put, but otherwise well done.

Bocodillo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:50pm

Fun and quite a challenge. Felt really well polished.

Reggianito says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Really good. Simple idea but great execution. The 'music' and graphics complemented the game really well. I think the monster grows too fast, not in a sense of "rate of growth" but how fast the new blocks appear. Many times I was in the middle of a jump and blocks appeared before me without giving me any fighting chance.

Love the spearjump mechanic. It wasn't really needed but you added it anyways, kudos for that.

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Cool! I really liked the mood with a little balancing (speed the eyes get back to the game) this can be amazing. Congrats

MisterMortal says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:19pm

Very nice looking game, though it took me some time to understand how to play it.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38pm

AAWWHH!!! I can't defeat this monster!! Nice game, good art. Keep working, it can be a great game!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Nice atmosphere and nice concept. Fun and quite a challenge. Neat ++

Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Really like the concept. Would love gamepad controls for this one. Graphics are good, although could be clearer just how far it's going to grow (maybe that's the point though). Really nice job.

gBouckaert says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:48am

Thanks for the comments, everybody :). I'm working on a little update, I'll see if I can put it out in the coming weeks.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:43am

good game with nice atmosphere!

radmars says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:45am

Cool! This is a great concept, and great mood as well. For some reason it took me a while to get the hang of the controls (gamepad controls would be awesome - imagine free aim of the spear with the right stick!); also the collision seemed a bit wonky at times, like I would die when I wasn't quite touching the black. There's also very little time to react when a new eye appears. If you tweaked some of this stuff this would be really fun. I love the sound design too. Great work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]