Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Crystal Thief

by sichevoid - Jam Entry

This is our first Jam and actually a first game out in the world!

Team:
Stanislav Polinov - sound/graphics
Elvira Sichevaia - programming

We were targeting both themes, the Growing heap of crystals and Two Button controls.

How to play: Shoot the crystals with the color matching the TEXT on the crystal, otherwise the security system will go off and you are busted! Don’t let the crystals get too close to you either, any touch - and you are done!
Here is an example: if you see “RED” on a green crystal with blue letters - you need to shoot with red gun.

There is a story behind this game!
The biggest and most expensive crystals in the world are grown here, on the factory from where they go to an unbreakable vault. Only the most ingenious thief can break in - and that’s you. But getting inside was the easiest part of your plan. So far, nobody was able to carry out the crystals without being noticed! Well, you were smart and got yourself a teleportation gun. It’s ray, when matching the crystal color, could send it far away before, but after the last burglary attempt the security has been significantly enhanced - the vault now has a protection field, which alters the visible crystal color. But nothing is impossible! You managed to get an augmented reality glasses, which are able to identify the real crystal color. This is one of the first prototypes, still under development. They are not able to show you the correct color. Instead, the color is indicated with text.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#263Humor(Jam)3.16
#290Audio(Jam)3.42
#449Fun(Jam)3.23
#454Theme(Jam)3.74
#508Innovation(Jam)3.15
#600Overall(Jam)3.23
#738Mood(Jam)2.94
#778Graphics(Jam)2.91

Comments

Xgor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:15am

Quite a enjoyable little game. Wish there was something more to add more depth to it but what's there works well.

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:17am

Ah the old classic mental challenge, match the colour the text says not the other colours. Works well here!

I would have liked to have seen more game pressure, didnt feel like there was much pressure to mess up, i could just keep going at my own pace. Perhaps a timer or increasing the number of gems on screen as time goes on

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:25am

A pretty neat game, but gameplay got a bit repetitive after a while

Janacek says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50am

Good job ! It would have been fun to change the rules during the game, for example you have to match the color of the crystal, then the color written on the crystal, then the color of the color written on the crystal, then my brain would implode :D

Garris says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:07am

The graphics look a little inconsistent with each other, but everything works. I would like to see a little more depth in gameplay, but the matching mechanic does well as it is.

sichevoid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

Well, we worried it would be too hard - but looks like the Ludum Dare folks need more challenge! We'll explore the alteration idea (as Janecek mentioned) - also had it ourselves. A tip for future me - think of a hardcore mode from the beginning! :)

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41am

++Nice short game that plays with your brain
-It starts to become a bit repatitive.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:52pm

You could have added something more to break the repetitiveness of actions.
Good effort anyway :)

Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:55pm

It works pretty well! The audio and gameplay are nice. Well done!

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11pm

What is this, a stroop test?

Nice soundtrack though

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:24pm

Fun game! Nice touch on the colors mixing and matching.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:36pm

Short but sweet game, definitely like how the game tricks you out with the names on the gemstones being different from the colour.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:21pm

At least I can buy cigarettes in prison.

monetai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09pm

simple but cool

sonelliot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:11pm

I enjoyed this game. Good job.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:17am

Fun game, but got repetitive quickly. Music was pretty nice though.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Nice! But too easy. :D

alhvi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:06am

Nice game. Interesting :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]