Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Now There's Blood On Your Hands

by JohnWatmuff - Jam Entry

Your name is willy and its been quiet a Christmas in button world, but not for long. Now There's Blood On Your Hands.

Please enjoy this very short game slash humorous Christmas adventure.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#25Humor(Jam)4.16
#380Fun(Jam)3.32
#518Mood(Jam)3.21
#713Innovation(Jam)2.84
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#924Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

doitle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31pm

I love it. Totally ridiculous and pointless escalation. The music amps things up quite a bit. I only wish the opening was a little bit shorter or quicker. Being that it's a non interactive part it goes on a bit long. Great jorb.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:36pm

Hilarious! Start is little bit boring, because I just watched and can't play, but later it becomes really fun.

Suaave says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

Well, that was unexpected. Hilarious, but it's a pity that it ends so early. Would have been nice to be able to skip the intro to check out all the branches faster.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:05am

I thought this was going to be a bad entry, I didn't see the game coming, but when I did I couldn't stop laughing, nice one!

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:10am

Funniest Ludum Dare game I've played. It had actual jokes, and I laughed at them.

LavWa says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14am

Funny story, the wait was worth it :) Good job !

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:27am

At first,I was like "Um...do I do anything...or?" And then I was "OMG THE COPS ARE COMING AFTER ME!" Hilarious

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

I just had a totally bonkers discussion with the police about the century-old merits of a manual corkscrew versus an automatic wine-opener. And I love it! This is very funny, albeit the intro is like twice as long as the game itself (it would have been nice if I could skip to the next piece of text by clicking or something, the default speed was way to low IMO)

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:03pm

HAHAHA or should I say HOHOHO? It's beggining to look a lot like Christmas! Happy hacking Christmas peeps!

piper82 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:51pm

funny. i struck keyboard while laughing. now ive got blood on my hands. gotta run!

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Very nice game. HILARIOUS in its concept, story, and gameplay.

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:05am

Really Funny ! Well played :)

xaedes says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:41am

at the first glance i thought to myself "bah do i really need to play that?"
than i relaxed, sat back and read through the story, then suddenly! it was very exciting and then very funny.
i enjoyed this very much

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:47pm

I can't stop thinking about what just happened XD Great job with the weird story concept, and I love the graphics and sound. Awesome work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]