Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Just Another Shooting Game

by behzad_robot - Compo Entry

It's a shooting game in which u gotta shoot enemies with the same bullet as they are till they grow enough to explode!
Use LM to shoot and RM to change bullet color. Them game gets serious on stage 3 and after wards.Stage 1 is tutorial.

I had two other ideas but totally felt like making a shooting game so i did.
The gameplay became much better after a little bit of level design, Other than that there's not much about this game it's just obeying the theme as good as it can two button controls

This is my first ludum dare and my 4th or 5th experience with game jams ...all the previous times i'd joined with my team but unfortunately we couldnt make it altogether this time so i'm solo this time, And this was the first game jam i actually had fun and chilled out ... cos i was totally not under pressure of making sth in time i just didnt care about the results ... the fun was important :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#413Humor2.50
#441Innovation3.21
#463Fun3.17
#484Mood2.95
#536Overall3.17
#562Theme3.63
#628Audio2.21
#786Graphics2.46
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

BigBrother says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:59am

Nice! I really like how you implemented the growing theme.

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:08am

Nice game, too hard for me though lol

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Hard and fun

KreXor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Nice game!
The two button controller made it really hard since you had to loop through the colors.

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:46pm

Great! This is one of those games that I like but am bad at.

punkto says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:30pm

In Debian:

./JustAnotherShootingGame.x86: error while loading shared libraries: libGLU.so.1: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

I have libGLU installed...

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47pm

@punkto : Thnx for giving the game a try but I'm afraid i cant be of much help in cases of linux i just used unity's linux bulid option but as long as i googled ur problem may be solved if u also install the 32bit version of libGLU or sth..

https://www.google.com/search?q=libGLU.so.1&oq=libGLU.so.1&aqs=chrome..69i57&sourceid=chrome&es_sm=93&ie=UTF-8

http://askubuntu.com/questions/386281/error-while-loading-shared-libraries-libglu-so-1

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Like it! nice gameplay :D

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Wonderful use of Comic Sans(?); interesting gameplay.

Anachron says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:22am

Brutally hard but fun gameplay. All that beeping gets annoying though

behzad_robot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52pm

@peterthehe yes it's comic sans and it's one of my favorite fonts.. ^_^

keyboardsan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Hey, it's too tough man.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:18am

Hard solid gameplay. GJ.

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:40pm

Ironically, not JUST another shooting game. Despite minimalistic visuals, game defends itself with non-trivial concept and pretty challenging gameplay. Adding second controllable character was also a nice touch.

Janacek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:49pm

Hard but fun !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]