Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Project Bowtie

by SplittyDev - Jam Entry

This is a little game I made using my own game engine.

You're a nerd, and nerds don't have fancy swords in real life. That's why you fight by dashing through hordes of enemies. It's still a little unrealistic (I, for example, can't even run for longer than a few mins), but who cares, it's a game :P

It's written in C# 5 and will run on Windows and Linux if mono is installed. On Linux you'll also need freetype, but that should be already installed on 99% of all popular linux operating systems.

Please DO NOT run it using wine. That won't work. Run it using mono.
On Windows, it should just work (tm).

IMPORTANT:
If the game doesn't run for you, download the FIX, unzip it and run the oalinst.exe from the zip. There's something wrong with the OpenAL library on some platforms. Please also delete the OpenAL32.dll from the game folder if you install the oalinst.exe

Textures by: Zer0li
Code by: Me (SplittyDev)
Engine Code by: CallumDev, Chronium and Me

All assets were made exclusively for this game during the official dev time.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2115Coolness24%

Comments

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:18pm

I can't open the game on my Windows x86 =(

EthanWebster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Fun little game, good job. :)

tiffi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Same here (windows 10 64 bit)

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Like the concept, simple but working well

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:21pm

@MorganLeFay that's really weird. Did you get an error message or did it just not open?

Pending Chaos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:29pm

It's failing to compile a vertex shader - http://pastebin.com/s8rzAgP8
and it just hangs.

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:35pm

@PendingChaos: Just run it using mono.
$ mono ProjectBowtie.exe

The libraries for linux are included. Wine is not the best way of running it :P

ranseur says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Laughed a bit at the game over screen! While I can hear some incredibly faint music (I had to turn up the volume quite a bit), some sound effects would make a game this a lot better. Check out http://www.bfxr.net/

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29pm

@ranseur: We actually made sounds but the engine code is a bit buggy and we had issues with sound effects

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:34am

Well done on your first entry :) I eventually died in wave 3. Orange things sometimes damages me when i dash through them. Not sure if there's a way to prevent this. Would be more fun if I felt a little more over powered(even though I'm a nerd) :)

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:40am

Is there difference between moving and dashing? Hold the button, it moves or dashes. Be hurt when touch the monsters, and die, maybe this is only moving, not dashing. How to cause damage to monsters? I just don't know how to dash.
Btw, is there a way to exit the game? I have to kill the process to exit..

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Smash the right button for the win!
Nice little game, wonder how I could dodge the damage from the sword spiders. Sometimes they hit me and sometimes they didnt o.o

SplittyDev says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:51pm

@qwetro you click the right button to dash. For exiting you press escape and exit :D

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:33am

Had to install OpenAL but worked well after that.
The game is quite fun but I think it would have been better if the right click was a short range attack, I found myself not using the left button at all because I could move and attack all with the right button. Good game nonetheless!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]