Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The game of life

by Frank_Hiroma - Jam Entry

The original idea was about a human being growing through out different stages and it involved some decision making and various minigames.
Because of a lack of time and the fact that I'm pretty much a novice, I had to cut the game to just one stage but the main idea is there.

Controls:

Enter key to accept.
Arrow keys to move.
Left mouse button for the minigame.


Hope you enjoy it!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#92Audio(Jam)3.91
#177Mood(Jam)3.68
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#508Innovation(Jam)3.15
#563Humor(Jam)2.57
#880Overall(Jam)2.88
#950Fun(Jam)2.55
#966Graphics(Jam)2.27

Comments

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:00pm

Cool game! Really like the sound design

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:12pm

It was a reasonably intersting game. As is mentioned before, the sounds were quite nice. However, it would've been nice to have a better indication of when to leave the womb. Perhaps some sort of visual, like something telling you it was too soon.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

love the pixel art, I went for that too :)

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:23pm

sound and graphics.. too much cool

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:28pm

The sound WAS amazing but I couldn't get out of the womb

Lim3s says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Sound design really drives it home. Would be cool to see the game expanded beyond birth for the future.

Beanallean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

I don't understand what I'm doing. The text has looped on my already and it's advancing at a snail's pace. Enter, arrows, or mouse does nothing. Sound is great so far, but I don't know what I'm supposed to be doing.

Hiroma says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:37pm

@Beanallean Must be a bug. Try restarting and see if it solves itself but the keys should work fine.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48pm

I really loved the sound, but wow, beating it took a ton of tries. It's really difficult, too difficult. I liked it though!

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27pm

The mood is nice thanks to that sound :D. Good work.

Tutti Ankka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Fits both themes well, sounds were great!

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:04pm

I didn't expect that, but very cool idea. Loved the atmosphere, especially the sound ;) Wasn't to fond of the controls for being born, but it did the job xD Would have liked to see what you had in mind for the later stages.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08pm

lol.. it was nice to play, but the moment when I realized what this game is all about I felt a bit uncomfortable. Yet, it's still a very innovative entry. :) !

flakoflak says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:43pm

Nice sounds, laughed a lot. Died a couple of times.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:27am

Great sound, great design. just wish it was a little longer :)

Dreyan says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:24am

This was definitely an unexpected gem. I wish there were more to it, but it fits the theme and was rather amusing. The sound was fantastic, and couldn't stop giggling at the absurdity of the whole premise of the game.

astrophics says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Interesting concept

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]