Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tangle Root

by Tacohej - Jam Entry

Tangle root

by Markus Tinnfält & Adam Ramberg

You play as a tangle root, trying to reach all watchers. They will refill your energy, that enables you to continue your journey.

Controls:

Use the arrow keys to grow.

Once a new node of the root has been grown, you can travel through them without losing energy

Hold left shift to enter Safe Mode - travel through nodes without accidently grow new nodes.

Hold space and press an arrow key to cut of a root in that direction



Hints

You don't need cut before level 4.

You don't need cut on every level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#74Innovation(Jam)3.87
#196Overall(Jam)3.68
#253Graphics(Jam)3.93
#284Theme(Jam)3.93
#397Mood(Jam)3.35
#417Fun(Jam)3.27
#457Audio(Jam)3.13
#604Humor(Jam)2.50

Comments

zguerrero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:33pm

very original concept, and fun to play. but often when i want to step back in the tree of nodes it start a new branch, can be frustrating. good game overall though!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Great Game! Love the idea and juicy exexution. Keep up the good work.

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:52pm

I understand zguerrero! We tried to fix that with Safe Mode (holding shift wont make new branches) but it might be a bit unclear. Thanks for your input!

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Great game nice concept

globemaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Cool idea! I kept getting stuck on the second level where I would have like 15 nodes available and when I connected to an eye it would go to 0 and I couldn't finish...

Tacohej says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30pm

glodemaster, thanks for your comment. That is actually part of the puzzle. The hint on that level may help you solve it!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:04pm

Nice graphic. Very fun and difficult game.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:05pm

I enjoyed playing this beautiful game. Really nice idea of gameplay and great visuals. Thank you!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:58pm

nise little game) like this colours)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Cool game!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:29pm

Neat idea!
Challenging and engaging, very polished and complete, good job!

SkullPixel says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:06am

This is a very well built game, and the art and sound was amazing. Please do tell me this wasn't made by one person. ;)

tobia88 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:51am

Nice work with those graphics! Like the controls too

Tapehead says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:42am

i don't understand the order of the eyes und some situations, but overall this is a cool puzzle game! very well done!

ZYXer says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:25am

Wow, awesome looking game, congratulations!

Great concept, good sound and good graphics. The difficulty of the levels is also well balanced. I also like how you introduce safe mode/cut mode.

paruthidotexe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:49pm

One of the new coolest game.. played for long time and it is very nice concept, art and game play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]