Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Insight

by gmatsura - Jam Entry

Players must balance several resources in order to allow plant life to grow. For example, by applying more sunlight, the player can increase the temperature in the environment. The scene will gradually get dark and the temperature will cool off.

If conditions are good, grass and trees can be grown. Once enough trees are present, Sparks can be applied to bring about life... though sometimes these same sparks will inadvertently kill life.

Eventually, if the player is able to keep the environment balanced for long enough, they will be able to use the Insight Button to complete the game, bringing about a stable environment for life to flourish in.

Controls:

The two buttons that you use to play are:
Next - Selects resources that effect the environment
Use - Uses the resource
These can be clicked with the left mouse button.

Made with Unity C#, Graphics Gale for Art, Mixcraft for Music

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#481Audio(Jam)3.08
#600Theme(Jam)3.59
#603Innovation(Jam)3.00
#647Mood(Jam)3.05
#741Graphics(Jam)3.00
#789Humor(Jam)2.06
#901Overall(Jam)2.85
#985Fun(Jam)2.44

Comments

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03am

Might not have been the best idea to mix these two themes on that kind of game. Having to cycle through the powers this way is painful and slows down the pace of the game. But still a good idea and very nice graphics.

gmatsura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:23am

Thanks for playing, the feedback is appreciated!

Henez says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:06am

Idea is great. Music is great. Game play is a little stale but it has great potential. Wasn't sure if there was an ending or specific goal other then to grow as many trees as possible. Well done.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:10am

I think it's fun! You could definitely build on this to manage more variation and variety. Good job!

Afendar says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:48am

I like the pixel art it is funny game. good job gmatsura for you first LD !

hyperscope says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:17am

Visually appealing although I felt the game play was rather dry. Simply clicking buttons wasn't enough to keep me engaged

nelskj says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:21am

It is a nice game, I like it.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:30am

Pretty dynamic game, although I think the water and tree animation was way too low on framerate.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:07am

Really nice game! The progression felt really good and it had just the right amount of figuring out what to do. Well done!

Big Cow says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:44am

I think you created a really nice atmosphere here. Peacefully attending to plants and helping them grow. Graphics were nice kinda reminded me of proteus and I like the way things sway in the breeze. A nice little scene. Cheers!

danidre14 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Cool game. Took some time to get used to it, but overall fun!

Peaceful music loop, and nice use of theme.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:22am

Loved the pixel art and the idea behind controlling the elements to get a nice forest :) Music was great as well. Missing some sort of ending / purpose to make the game a bit more interesting. Great job

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Nice idea, but the power selector is a bit weird. I'm sure if you keep polishing the way to select thepowers you will achieve something great. Maybe collecting them as powerups and using them as resources instead of just powers that you have to activate. Just a thought!

Anyway is a good idea, keep the good and hard work!

jachepe says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:22pm

A very fun and solid game but maybe a bit repetitive. Great work!

Geti says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:27am

Cute little sandbox/resource management game, but not that much to do :)

Pantoufle says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Great idea!
At first I thought it would be too simple, but it was a real challenge to keep all variables at correct values.
I enjoyed the graphics and music as well.
Congratulations for making this game! :-)

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:58pm

Really smart approach, love the nature-modelling games :)

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:22pm

Also (sorry for posting it here) sorry for not clear rules in Let's Play Simulator 2016 (http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114). Hope this screenshot (http://take.ms/flHZu) will help you to understand how to detect good/bad games :)

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:02am

Neat! I like the art, and balancing all the little bits was kinda fun. I wasn't a huge fan of the random nature of the spark, as it seemed to come down to just a lot of spamming, but it was minor. Nice job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]