Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Space Laser Omega

by Auroz - Jam Entry

You work for a business which terraforms planets and sells them to people. Some people like you. Some people don't like you. Terraform planets using the beam and shoot things using the laser. In order to charge the beam, you need to be moving quickly.

Controls:
Movement - WASD
Terraforming Beam - Left Mouse
Laser - Right Mouse
Upgrades - Z/X/C

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#444Innovation(Jam)3.24
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#750Humor(Jam)2.17
#879Graphics(Jam)2.63
#894Mood(Jam)2.57
#904Theme(Jam)3.08

Comments

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

It's nice

Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:36pm

That was fun once I got the hang of drive-by terraforming! :) I think you should mention in the instructions that you need to drive around to recharge the terraform beam because I didn't understand that at first.

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Cool game! I had fun zipping around the planets.

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

I liked the fact that you show me in which direction to shoot so I can kill enemies without having to see them on my screen. Job well done :)

exhidor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:38pm

Controls are a bit difficult but the idea is good

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Fun! I think it's important to note that moving faster charges your beam. Took me a minute to figure that out. Nicely done, though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Innovative concept, I like the progression. Good job!

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Nice idea. I felt it was a little difficult to control and could have been made easier by eliminating the back button to stop, and instead having to hold and release the forward button, for moving and stopping respectively. Good job.

AmazingCazt says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Probably not just me but I think this game is actiualyl really good! Concept is amazing though the controls can be tricky at times :/// Good work tho.
10/10 for artwork btwww

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:48am

Interesting game. The beam being recharged by moving around is a nice idea. I liked how you incorporated the theme into your game.

My only critique would be that it should be more clear how the terraforming beam works. It wasn't until I read the comments that I was able to figure out that it needed to be recharged by moving.

loxo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:18pm

I like the idea, nice start! The terraforming is easy, but it's challenging to destroy the enemies. I think the game would greatly benefit from some sound effects.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Interesting concept. Would be fun to see game with same theme but more towards the stuff where you need to find right clients as well for your business instead of random shooting.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:23pm

+ Nice concept and gameplay.
+ Cool graphics.

- Hard controls.

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Nice idea. The only think that was jarring for me was the lack of collisions - they would make terraforming more challenging (and fun!). Otherwise, cool :).

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

It's good but I'm kinda missing sounds. Same problem like my game, it feels to repetitive too fast

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:24pm

Had fun playing your game :D cool idea i like it

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:48pm

Honestly, I think this one looked better on paper. It's a cool idea, and I think it has real potential, but I found it just became a grind after a while. I would enter a level, spend 30 seconds sniping turrets I couldn't see (not that fighting them up close is satisfying - it would be were it not for this game's unfortunate paucity of explosions), then spin in circles for a while trying to pin down planets with my mouse, then spend the money on more dakka. Seriously, the laser upgrade was the only one I found appealing. Drive-by terraforming means you never need to came about battery capacity, and I never felt a need to go faster. I think this would have been better with mechanics that forced you to deal with the planets and enemies at the same time instead of focusing on the enemies and then farming planets for a while.

VersatileBox says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:49pm

Great game! Been playing it for some time. Something I'd like is that I don't have to start from the beginning when I lose, but I really like the concept.

Jerre says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:00pm

I like the mechanic, but it is a bit slow too play, and then all of a sudden gets very difficult. Also just as a small note, some people (like me ;, with a mac book pro) ) do not have a right mouse button, so think about offering an alternative.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:19pm

I ended up playing this for ages and got to wave 38. Good job!

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:07pm

Works well, nice setup. As others mentioned, a quick mention that movement charges the terraform beam would be good. Nice.

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Too difficult on a macbook where right click is double tap... would have been easier with spacebar for shooting.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]