Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Vacuum Fish

by ORECROS - Compo Entry

***PLEASE give criticism!!! I want to get better***

Fly through space and kill aliens. This game is a bullet hell shooter with 2 button controls. Gravity drags you down while your wings (spacebar) bring you up. and shoot at flying saucers with the Z button. while your hitbox is the size of a tiny dot (the red dot) there's ALOT of things to dodge. can you make it to the end? I've included an infinite health mode in case you can't beat is and still want to beat the game.

Made using Game Maker: Studio Professional.

My first entry to the competition, and second game I've completed. You can check out my last game if you'd like: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9mdXoPB4I9g

*edit* - separated the windows release and source code into different downloads. I tried to keep my code readable for you guys, just in case you're interested

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#377Overall3.36
#412Fun3.24
#480Humor2.36
#511Mood2.92
#634Innovation2.89
#642Theme3.54

Comments

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

Cute concept and the controls feel nice and are fun, but I had a hard time controlling my ship and shooting the enemies consistently. Maybe if the enemies took fewer hits and there were more enemies it would feel a bit more fast-paced? Overall cute concept and fun to play!

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

You should just make it to where you're always firing, there's no reason not to fire. I like the dodging mechanics though.

ORECROS says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

I considered that, but then i would have a button for going UP, and then what would be the point of the gravity?

krashja says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:37am

Cool game, but the ship its a little bit hard to control, its hard to kill enemies too.

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39am

It would seem that flappy hell is just as evil as i imagined it would be! D:

Nice work!

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

Holy crap this game is hard, couldn't get past the first boss! The controls are interesting, though it mostly boils down to just holding down fire and moving up so the second button is kinda useless.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27am

Flappy Bird with a cannon, the control feels good.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Nice one, i like shmup and this one was quite new for me, so i'm happy :)

Tackwin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:21pm

The movement of the ship is really nice! I found it a little hard, but nice and simple.

LMT says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03pm

That was a really nice game. It feels very complete, and has quite a lot of content for such a short timespan. I am also really glad that you included the option for infinite lives since I was much worse at it than I thought i would be :P

The implementation of the theme was perfect, and overall the game felt just the right length for a LD game.

rogberth says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Really hard game, but thanks for the infinite live mode! it was still good fun

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:08pm

A nice mash up of genres. This game is fun and wacky.

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31am

Great game! Flappy shmup makes sense. Like others said, it should be on autofire since there's never a need to not be firing. It's a lot easier to control when you don't need to worry about another button. Game was fun though, would benefit a lot from a good soundtrack but that obviously can't be expected of all compo games.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

Allthebees says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:07am

This is a really well made game. There's a lot of stuff for only 48 hours, lots of different enemy types and I loved the death animation for the enemy ships. Small things but the music didn't seem to loop and the back of the player ship had no collision which may have been on purpose but kinda confusing. Overall a really impressive game.

Ghen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:30pm

this is veeeerryy harrdd, not really my type of game, but i like the concept, the control weird, but overall really great game :D

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]