Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Radioactive Bubble Boy

by DrTeaSpoon - Jam Entry

Radioactive Bubble Boy is platformer that includes both themes:
Two buttons (left and right arrows) to move and jump.
Collect bubbles to grow yours large enough to fit your significant other with you.

Some mechanical tips for those having difficulties with the controls:
-Jumping from ground always goes to direction you press first.
-Jumping from ground doesn't give you air-control.
-Walking off ledge without jumping or touching even briefly a ledge when wall jumping gives air-control. Same if you fall from wall without pressing any button or holding the button towards the wall and not releasing it.

Game Logic does this all with state system. If you intentionally jump/walljump( or press towards the wall to release from wall) your character is set to "jumping" where you cannot change your velocity in mid air. When you touch ground or fall from ledge/wall you are set to "idle" state where you can move to "moving" state.

In testing I've managed to get every "GREEN" thing at least once. But my best score is getting 10 of them without dying. Leave a comment if you can beat that. :3
Would love to see someone reaching the end screen. ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#272Humor(Jam)3.13
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#681Innovation(Jam)2.90
#823Mood(Jam)2.73
#857Graphics(Jam)2.69
#901Overall(Jam)2.85
#935Fun(Jam)2.58

Comments

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Very hard to get used to the controls.

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38pm

cool game, the face's scared me, thinking it was demonic, thing but then i realised its heart in eyes. good job

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Neat concept but hard to go the direction you wanted to after you jumped!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:03pm

Cool idea control is not easy at the start. but it works.

joekinglake says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Nice game, I think there needed to be a bit more tweaking with the movement of Bubble Boy. Well done!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:50pm

+ Good graphics and sound.
+ Good platformer gameplay.
+ Funny death message.

- Hard controls

Rose says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Bubble Boy's expressions are really cute, and the notes were funny.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:25pm

Conceptually good, but I think the controls could use some work.

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27pm

Controls are really difficult to learn, a tutorial section to learn it would have been great. Has potential

guru-guru says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Had big issues with the controls. ):

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:46pm

This was a very clever movement mechanic. Its cool how the player can navigate through the entire maze using only 2 buttons!

My only complaints would be that the controls were tricky to use sometimes, and that there was a lot of 1 block wide vertical paths which the player needed to go up to get to the next area. I found that these were hard to get the player to wall jump up.

Interesting game though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Hard controls, could use some more content

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Sir... I enjoyed your game, sir.

Penthaquill says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08pm

fiddly controls... I like how you always are called "sir" ^^

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:16pm

Sound gets a little repetitive, but controls are easy to get used to, great game ^w^!

ragnta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:54am

Nice game, but the direction is hard :)

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Cool use of the theme and overall a good idea but the controls are hard to get used to and can result in frustrating deaths.

teamross says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:18pm

Great game and good use of the themes!
The controls are a bit dificult, but that's challenging :)

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:09pm

Music was really nice and the little faces were cute, but I couldn't understand the control scheme at all - it seemed really inconsistent. It seems like a cool game but I can't really play it :(

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:14pm

I like the mimic of the character and the messages you get when collecting stuff and on game over. Jumping is quite difficult though.

Lares Yamoir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23pm

Silly error on my part, with mimic I meant facial expression.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Cool game! I like the sprite design and the music is good, but the controls are a bit hard to use.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Fun animations and UI. I liked the audio track, but it was a bit short. Would have appreciated more intuitive controls and level design.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:31pm

Great game I loved your controls and mechanics. I found the gameplay very fun and the random generation makes the game have high replay value. I also thought the subtle face changes were a nice touch. Overall great entry good job.

by the way in response to your comment on my game. It fits the theme of "Two Buttons" by having the "Left Click" and "Right Click" being the two buttons. We also didn't apply the second theme grow, although we wanted to we couldn't figure it out without the animations looking off. Luckily the rules say we can use either/or theme so we chose the former.

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:44am

You had buttons in that game? I beat it without knowing there was any other controls than mouse O_O

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:45am

I mean mouse movement. :D

Blobo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:28pm

This was an interessting entry. the controls were hard, yet easy at the same time. the platforming was difficult, but not impossible. i liked the challenge!

spotco says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:51am

would have been much better without the left+right = jump control

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:48pm

The controls took some time to get use to. But I did like the game, and I think you could add to this and make a solid IOS/Android game.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:19am

Controls are actually great once you learn them. Good music and pretty nice graphics as well. Great job.

rd127p77 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Hard but interesting jumping mechanic.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]