Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

リーソンのゲーム Leeson's Game

by Leeson - Compo Entry

My first Ludum Dare game with the most creative name known to man. The game it self is about growing and shrinking your character to fit in the blocks coming towards you.

Controls: up-arrow or W: grow
down-arrow or S: shrink



Note:In web version Arrow keys do make page scroll so the W and S keys are recommended unless you like a jittery page in that case I won't judge

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#397Audio2.81
#484Theme3.73
#519Fun3.11
#598Mood2.80
#663Humor1.86
#752Innovation2.65
#767Overall2.89
#903Graphics1.70

Comments

Tsundown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

Pretty good game, entertaining, little on the small side but very well done and packaged up :)

dmecke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:40pm

The game feels like a classic arcade game. I would like to see some more features, so it does not get boring too soon. But after all the core mechanic is very well done!

shanton says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Good concept that's fun to play, well done

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20am

Rather fun to play. Title of the game is original ;)

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

Simple and fits the theme.

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

I had a few issues with the game scrolling around when the arrow keys were pressed, but when it worked, I had fun playing. Though if you don't mind me asking, why do you have part of both the game and the game's title written in (what appears to be, but forgive me if I'm wrong as I've only started learning Japanese not too long ago) Japanese Hiragana, yet the entire description is written in English?

Leeson says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:53pm

I was desperate for a title so I went into google translate and translated "Leeson's Game" into japanese. I found it looked cool so I put it in the title

jigalx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I got 44 points. Good job!

Phil Strahl says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Took me a bit to figure it out, perhaps you could instead of having "target bars", have walls come at the player with differently sized holes? All in all a nice little game for my Atari 2600, although not really exhausting the hardware ;)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:00pm

Solid concept. Got 212 points, is that any good?

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

This has the flappy bird feeling to it...in a good way. Release on the Apple store guys, my wife would play the hell out of it.

MR1BOOBMBOX says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:34pm

Very Fun leeson Keep up the good work 10 out of 10 IGN

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Simple, but fun! I just wish it was a little more obvious that you had to match the size; like instead of matching the bar that is coming, have inverted it so you have to match your size to a hole in an oncoming wall.

Leeson says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:58am

I was thinking about that but a hole would make it seem like you could simply become smaller than the hole and that would defeat the point of resizing;So instead I made it so that you had to match the size of objects coming at you instead of a hole

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:11am

It was simple, but to the point. I found myself bobbing to the music.

Masuno says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:54am

This is interesting. And possibly the most entertaining arcade game I've played in recent days. It's minimalistic, but that's why I think it's so good.

This is perhaps one of the few games that really doesn't need anything done to it. I like the difficulty, I like the gameplay, and it's just really addictive.

And, yes. That is how you would write Leeson's Game in Japanese. :D

I got to 50 on my first try, but didn't really bother to try again since I have games to play and critiques to make. You know how it is! But I'm sure that someone like you can end up making even more interesting ideas like this.

Galan says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:55am

Kinda similar to my own game this time. Actually the person who gave me the idea suggested something a little closer to yours.

Gunzil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:09am

Mash W and S to grow and shrink your line. Match the opposing lines hurtling towards you before it's too late.

Simple gameplay, it works fairly well and is well paced in terms of how quickly the lines to match speed up. Good background music and sfx as well. Not super complex but a good first shot at Ludum Dare.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:53am

A simple concept with a decent execution. It could have used more jazzing up and variety, and the difficulty curve is a bit slow, which quickly results in the player getting bored.

Music is good, sfx are fairly simple and limited.

kmakai says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:31am

Very nice! I like that the game can end, and that it does increase in difficulty over time. It wasn't super intuitive at first that the blocks needed to be the same size, but it was easy to catch on quickly.

phi says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:33pm

Nice little game!
When it goes faster I feel a bit dizzy ;) Got 77 points (3 tries).
Overall good job!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Core gameplay done right, and nothing else matters!

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:12pm

nice old school game
(ping pong style)

candlesan says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 4:30am

Neat game! Cool idea. Simple and straightforward. Grats on your first LD hope you had fun look forward to seeing another from you next time

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]