Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cube Wars

by Chubb1337 - Compo Entry

Cube Wars

In this game. You play as the Blue Cube, let's call him Bob for now.
As Bob, you walk around using the Right Mouse Button and shoot with the Left Mouse Button. [Two Button Controls ;) ]

It is Bob's task to destroy all Red and Purple Cubes.

There are 6 different level themes, each with their music.

Crates explode and do damage to enemies.

Enemies sometimes drop power-up's such as a shield, cooldown reduction and armour-piercing bullets.

Get the highest score by surviving as long as possible while eradicating the enemy cubes.

Compare yourself to others in the in-game online highschore table.

Enjoy!

-Chubb1337

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#184Fun3.60
#359Audio2.90
#421Overall3.31
#574Graphics2.93
#579Mood2.82
#742Theme3.36
#809Innovation2.52

Comments

paradxil says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:19am

Google Drive says I need permission to view/download the game.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:34am

Sorry about that, It should be available now!

adamyounis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:46am

Pretty fun game. It's a bit frustrating to have to always shoot and run in the same direction, I developed a kind of sniping technique after a while. Still, I enjoyed the level design and the palette was nice. That subtle camera shake was also much appreciated.

I'm not sure what the yellow squares were supposed to do. the first one I got gave me a shield but every one after that did nothing? My impression was that I broke it somehow.

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:51am

This game was pretty good, has an arcade-y feel to it. The controls were a little awkward. Graphics are simple, but really nice!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:53am

It is explained in the description, but I'll do it again ;)

The yellow cubes give the player either of three power-ups:

A shield
Armour-piercing bullets
Cooldown reduction on your weapon

Hope this clarifies it for you ^^

bazz_boyy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:06am

Hey, decent game, feels very smooth. The idea however is pretty ordinary. I did like the level changes though

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Fun game, occupied me for a couple of minuts. Everything is fine, but in my opinion using the mouse isn't part of a two-button control game. Overall good stuff, love the competition this Ludum Dare, only food good entries so far!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:50pm

@Geukes COlin, I get your point, it you control it with more than just two buttons, but at the same time, it's still only two buttons you play with, things can be said for both ;)

Thank you for your reply, nice that you liked it ^^

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Fun game! I loved how the shooting felt.
The levels got a little boring after a while, though.

Piode says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:09pm

I really like the controls, they're so simple yet unique and fun. The graphics, though simple, look really nice too, and the sound effects are really good for a game jam game as well. Good to see someone else using Game Maker: Studio!

Solifuge says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:38pm

I like the color palette, and the The take on 2-Button, and the fact that mouse controlled movement and shooting conflicted, was frustrating at first, but it made for some interesting strategic choices. I liked how the enemies moved if they had line of sight; a nice stealth-style touch! I couldn't hear any audio, but I'll update this if that changes.

Thanks for putting this together!

Ancient_Pixel says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

I really like the power ups and the graphics look vivid. It´s a bit diffcult to move and shoot at the same time bc its the same direction, but the theme is there and nicely done!

Zifiv says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Your game have a big bug... I can't launch it in my Windows 8 computer, but I've three process who are started (I tried to launch the .exe three time). The biggest problem is that I can't kill this three process... I can't delete your game... and a restart of my computer isn't work !
Help me, fix your problem.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:02am

@Zifiv, I'm playing it fine on my Windows 8 computer, so I don't really know what could be the problem? I've never had any of the problems you're describing. Did you manage to fix it already?

Saymon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Awesome game !

WizByte_Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19pm

This was fun, I wish there were more upgrades though.

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Good Game fun to play

davesoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39pm

Nice game! Like a very low res hotline miami :D

CustomPhase says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Quite enjoyable little game. Could have benefitted from more variety, both in game mechanics and content.

hiki911 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:22pm

nuclear throne with cubes, nice one

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

Sweet game! Not really a fan of not being able to strafe away from enemies while shooting, but I understand that the theme limits that a lot.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:27pm

I really enjoyed the game! It was challenging and fun to play. I like that you had changing levels and a highscore system. Two small problems I had:
First, my antivirus wasn't letting me open your .exe so I had to turn it off to play.
Also the purple enemies are already harder than the red enemies but when the level itself is purple, too. They are hard to spot on top of it so I got run over before I could react.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:08am

reminded me of nuclear throne a bit - nice job

AndreasL says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:32am

Very nice graphics and sound!
I like the gameplay aswell, others have mentioned nuclear throne and I can see the resemblence. I sih however that there was more variety. New enemies and power-ups to discover etc.

Solid game!

WeirdMind says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22am

Nice Game. Easy to learn, hard to master. The sounds are great and it's a lot of fun to play. A few more enemies maybe but its ok. Only the highascore list, i cant find it!? x.x

LittleThor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:43pm

Well made! Not very original, but quite efficient ^^

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:02pm

Overall a good game

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:18am

I got through a few levels, it definitely feels very close to a full video game! You get satisfaction from blowing stuff up because of the polish, even though the art is a little bit lacking. I would say the things that need the most work would be the enemy behaviors and the audio/visual assets.

YinYin says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:50am

The varying level music was a bit too samey for me. It didn't really add a lot of variety. Similar thing with the levels themselves. If the different colours also produced noticeably different structures (straight/windy corridors, open square/wiggly spaces, few/many obstacles) it would make the game a lot more engaging. You'd be happy or afraid upon seeing a certain colour pop in.

I kind of expected the crates to drop power ups. Their damaging explosion wasn't quite clear till the point where it killed a lot of enemies at once that were far away from my bullet stream. If the power ups were dropped by crates (could retain exploding ones with a different colour) and also looked different depending on what they are, it would give the player a little more control over the action rather than just numbly shooting and collecting everything there is. There'd be things to decide besides how-do-I-approach-this-crowd.

Collision detection was a bit weird in some corner cases. Standing too close to a wall would often eat my bullets regardless of which direction I was shooting and the fire rate power up allowed me to hit through a single block wall.

Also the limited controls kind of hurt the fun of this game to me. With traditional wasd movement it would be way more fun. Considering the two button restriction I would experiment with two buttons for forward/backward movement and both for shooting (since most of the time you stop to shoot anyway since charging towards the target is usually a bad idea).

LukeZaz says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 4:04am

Good little game. Wasn't sure what the powerups did for a while, and the purple cubes blended in to one of the environments, making them very hard to spot. Other than that, the overall look of the game and way it functioned was very smooth.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 6:55pm

Thanks for leaving a rating and commenting on my game! I included your game in an episode of my Let's Play Ludum Dare 34 series to show my gratitude! :D

Below is a link to the post with details, and you can find out my opinion of your game in the video as I play!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/26/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-03/

yuigoto says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:19pm

Pretty fun and simple, love the minimalistic style, a bit challenging sometimes too! :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]