Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chicken Spin

by RSquarStudios - Compo Entry

Water is running low and you need to help the little chicken preventing water drops to fall in her planet's ground. Trees may helping you too...

RULES:
- For each collected drop you receive 1 point
- For each drop that falls into the planet you loose 1 life
- Drops collected with trees do not count as points (trees are just for help you avoiding loose lives)

CONTROLS:
- RIGHT arrow - rotate right
- LEFT arrow - rotate left

www.rsquarstudios.com
twitter.com/RSquarStudios

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#283Humor2.80
#308Graphics3.43
#355Theme3.88
#380Fun3.29
#384Mood3.09
#481Audio2.63
#559Overall3.14
#571Innovation3.00

Comments

bradur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:26am

Nice little game that gets very difficult after a while. Could have used some music on the background, or different types of drops.

Neoludo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28am

I loved the adorable little chicken, as well as the overall art style of the game. The rotation of the planet and the chicken felt REALLY nice, and gave a great sense of speed. The gameplay itself was enjoyable and responsive, though obviously a bit limited (but with a limited time that's no real problem!) I liked how the difficulty ramped up, and enjoyed my time spent in Chicken Spin.

Nice work!

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:01am

Starts out a little slow, but once it picks up it turns into a fun little experience! The graphics are really nice, the visual style is cohesive and well-executed.

architect404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:23pm

simple but pleasant graphics and smooth physics, the collisions between the drops and trees could have been better (hitting the whole tree rather than just the trunk), and some background music would be nice. good effort!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Nice little game. Gets challenging quick though :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:26pm

Cute little game, two-button-controls were used well. However it is a bit difficult to anticipate where the next eggs (?) are falling and if you happen to be on the other side it feels a bit out of your control.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:28pm

Nice!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:30pm

Nice! Like the clean art, simple to grasp game.

AM_Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Very clean and appealing art style. Enjoyable and easy to learn :) Could do with some music though.

Rogod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31pm

Hah, you chose the same idea as me but with ducks :D!

Love it, made me happy and was fun to play.
Good job, nicely polished too (although you're console was a bit odd and had a few typos)

:D

Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Looks nice!
A bit unrewarding gameplay, because sometimes there is no chance you can catch a drop.
Could be addictive with some polish.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:33pm

I could see this being a good mobile game to play to kill time.

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:39pm

Nifty little game. I was gonna try and compile a linux version... but I have no idea what you used to code this. :P Anyways, I played it using WINE, and I don't know if it was just me, but it seemed a little too "slippery" when trying to control the chick. Might be a little more fun if it only moved when the player held the button down and didn't "slide" around after letting go.

mahjong50 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:01pm

Nice game, however in the beginning I thought the trees were an obstacle I couldn't pass through.
I like the touch on the cotrols, it might work for mobile ;p.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:37pm

The controls are a little loose. I ended up missing drops by overshooting more often than not. Cool idea though!

Kaz

nucleartide says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 12:36am

Neat little game. It's hard to get past 25 points or so, haha.

mahalis says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 2:44am

Cute - I like the art style and the rotating-the-world mechanic is nifty. Could use a little more complexity, but it's fun as-is.

RiOrius says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 4:17am

Cute, fun, but a bit simplistic.

awesomerex says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 5:51am

Fun game. Gets difficult very fast. I was only able to make it to level 4 at my highest play through. took me a while before I noticed you can block the rain drops with the plants.

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:46am

nice game

sergicollado says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 8:50pm

Nice idea, I really like it : )

DecayConstant says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:35pm

Overall a very cute game! :D

dreamlogician says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:33pm

So much fun! I love the idea of using the trees as shields if you can't reach the raindrop with your chicken. It makes the game much more exciting, and introduces a nice element of risk.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:36pm

What a pleasant game. I couldn't stop playing. I like how the challenge ramps up.

BloodJohn says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:58pm

quack quack =)

alfie275 says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:10pm

Fun little game :)

Big Cow says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:14pm

Haha very cute. The tweet sound is very funny lovely movement.

Kerdelos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:35pm

The trees hitboxes seem a bit weird but the art looks good !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]