Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Robo-Spider Attack!!!

by iszlonn - Jam Entry

Eat your way trough hordes of people
and animals as a half-robot half-spider
and grow as big as you can, for as long
as the military allows you!

First ever LD submission, we're team Smiling Building Games!

PS: Uploaded as WebGL build from Unity3d, best played on firefox.
Also, the load tends to take a little at the beggining in a grey
screen, just wait a little bit more.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#626Theme(Jam)3.56
#692Fun(Jam)2.94
#849Graphics(Jam)2.71
#880Overall(Jam)2.88
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:48am

It's an OK concept. Needs more graphics (e.g. on the floor). Maybe a heads up display with score, indicators of danger, health bar, etc. It wasn't clear to me if I could kill the guys who were shooting at me.

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:02pm

The spider looks cool!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I wish that your health bar got bigger as you did. Otherwise a fun game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:05pm

Fun gameplay, I liked chasing the little critters while dodging bullets, but it could really use some graphics for the floor.
Cheers,
Zazine (Tyrants-Not-Found team)

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Nice idea.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Haha, the animations are pretty good for a 3 day jam and I like the concept.

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:56am

Cool spider!

I wish there was feedback on what size creatures I can currently eat. I think some of the things on screen are cut off when playing on the site linked here. I'm not sure if there was a health bar.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Not being able to see where the bullets are coming from is a questionable design decision. Was also confused about how to eat the soldiers.

Points for having a spider protagonist though!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]