Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lumber Jacques Cousteau

by Innobec - Jam Entry

Help the beaver navigate the treacherous waters by eating the fish that are smaller than him (glowing green). The beaver can grow by eating the cans of maple syrup that are falling from the surface but be careful, eat too many, become too big and he will explode!

Navigate using two buttons, up and right. Let go of up and the beaver will move down and let go of right and he will move left.

Survive as long as possible and eat as many fish as possible so get the highest score!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58am

Great use of audio and great graphics! I'm very impressed. Also, the title pun is awesome, and as a Canadian I did appreciate all the maple syrup and the beaver main character.

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:33am

Overall decent entry. I laughed when I ate too much and exploded. The movement animations of the player can use some work. You get minus one point for Theme for not having two button controls for the menus ;)

Galan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:55am

Really fun! With a bit of gameplay balancing (and maybe some control tweaking), it could be quite addictive.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:06pm

Nice graphics and interesting mechanic, good use of the themes.
However there should be better feedback when dying, it happens very sudden and there should be an warning indicator when collectible fish are almost turning back to enemies...

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:47am

Really good looking game

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:19pm

I really like the Audio in this game! I had fun.
Fun and solid experience. Goooooood Job!

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:15pm

good concept, graphics and audio.
can improve on player movement control, user feedback like eating and death..

Linear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:46pm

I really like the mood and the sound of the game. The graphics are pretty decent too, but I am frustrated by some of the gameplay issues. First, cans and fish spawn randomly. They don't come down from the surface or spawn on the right side of the screen. They spawn somewhere closer towards the middle, making it impossible to stay in the middle of the screen for fear that a large fish will spawn. More importantly though, your size is constantly shrinking, leading to a problem where it's very likely that a fish will stop glowing green a split second before you eat it. Also, the cans and fish can spawn inside of you if you are too close to where they spawn, making you immediately pick them up, running the risk of making you too big. If these issues were addressed it would be much more enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]