Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Dancing Sunflower

by aemiliu5 - Jam Entry

You're a sunflower! Find the sun rays and stay underneath them in order to grow.

The game fits in both themes: "Growing" and "Two Button Controls"

A game made by me and Nikolas Platon ( http://youtube.com/TheGreekComposers ) for the 34th Ludum Dare Jam. #LD34

Controls:
[A] [D] Move
[P] Pause
[Esc] Quit To Menu

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#369Audio(Jam)3.29
#491Theme(Jam)3.70
#522Humor(Jam)2.64
#627Mood(Jam)3.08
#730Innovation(Jam)2.81
#773Fun(Jam)2.84
#861Overall(Jam)2.92
#928Graphics(Jam)2.43

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:01pm

Ωραίοι! :D

Jeroen Kappé says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27pm

I enjoyed it :)

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42pm

Pretty cool game, I love the mood and the graphics are kind of cute nwn!
Btw web versions says it couldn't load the data or something like that.

rodobodolfo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:42pm

good concept! I love the music and I enjoyed the game.

greeboCherry says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:55pm

Relaxing, nice music

ddr2 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:06pm

web version worked fine for me on firefox.

graphics looked cool (though, why that weird blurriness on the tree ?), music as well.

the only thing that would prevent me from trying to beat my record (46) would be the fact that it's completely random and you end up just doing a left-right and hope that you will find the next zone to grow which seems to be completely random ?

Yazara says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:11am

The controls work well and the music is nice :)
Some ideas for improvement I had were
1. decrease the speed when the sunflower is small
2. show the next lightbeam with an indicator to make it less random, but maybe add an obstacle (like a cloud) which stuns you, for more tactical depth

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17am

does not work for me. Archlinux, NVIDIA 8800GT

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Addicting! Mood is perfect. love the music, but it cut out a bit awkwardly at one point. Player on this page does not work, but the GameJolt link works well. *SPOILERS*...

Don't know why it explodes at the end, but I loved it.

cudabear says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53am

I'll admit, I laughed when the sunflower exploded. This game is basically one big game of high/low, when the light moves you gamble on whether it's to the right or to the left. The more you get it right, the more you grow. It doesn't make it very intriguing, but the music is groovin'.

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:01am

Nice game :3

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Haha! It was funny to run to the sun :P

tantumgames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:20pm

Funny small game.

Dayko says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:27pm

That was fun :) (scored 34 !) I agree with Yazara though, it feels a bit too random for now

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Have to say I didn't expect the flower to do that at the end. Got to 58 pts. Humorous and good BGM.

themadknights says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Sound is great

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:45pm

good music and good concept of the games makes it to play.
can improve on showing some indication on the sunlight is left or right,
can show some more contrast image to show the sun rays,

Nice blasting at the end

SketchyGalore says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very good music! And the game over is pretty brilliant XD

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]