Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Magnet

by ZpeedTube - Compo Entry

Shape Magnet

A 2D physics platformer where you are a cube that try get to finish line, and on the way there you have to pick up blocks so you get bigger to overcome obstacles. And in some places you have to trigger something to come by walls that block your path.

Only using left and right arrow keys on as controlls.
Space just for restarting if you get stuck for some reason.

In the menu, up and down to select and enter or space to select.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#244Innovation3.55
#391Theme3.84
#481Overall3.23
#525Fun3.10
#549Humor2.23
#778Mood2.44
#832Graphics2.29

Comments

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:30pm

Very nice entry, needs more levels of course! (and better graphics) I want to play more.


Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

seththefirst says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

I really liked the idea.
If had some bg music and fx could be more enjoyable.
better graphics could be good too, but not a must.

Well done... =)

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:56pm

You did a great job on the physics of the game, would be nice with some music and sound thought, and better graphics.

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Very cool game, I wish there were more levels :)

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:14pm

Simple, but has very good gameplay.
The only thing you need to fix is block attachment system, it's slightly glitchy.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:17pm

Thnx for the feedback! :)
And yes @HolyBlackCat I know it's a little glitchy, did work hard on making as little glicthy as possible.
And @qkerguelen I will add more in the future! :)

daveh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:59am

It works well. Needs more levels, but the levels that are there show a great direction for a physics puzzler. It was frustrating, but in a fun way, to scramble around on the balls.

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:37pm

Thank you for the feedback! :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:06am

Very enjoyable! I loved the sticking mechanic, it felt really cool bouncing around as a cube collective!
I managed to spin around so fast and mess up the joints though, it started to spin around uncontrollably, but great entry nonetheless!

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Pretty cool. reminds me of katamari a little bit.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Too bad there's no sound but it's an interesting take on a 2D sidescrolling Katamari style game.

UrbanHelsing says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Physics simulations always works

knason says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:06pm

this was fun, it need more levels! :) great job!

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Once agen, thnx for all the feedback!!!
It makes me happy to get it! :)

Tselmek says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:12pm

Really fun game, nice use of the themes. Could definitely use some audio feedbacks.

PowerSpark says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:56am

Cool idea very fitting for the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]