Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

It really Hz

by An_error - Jam Entry

It Really Hz is an addictive rage game where the player takes form as a frequency in a oscilloscope. The player controls its frequency and wavelength and the goal is to dodge obstacles and get the highest score as possible. Just as a warning, it really hertz.

This is our first Ludum dare entry, so constructive feedback would be greatly appreciated. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#414Audio(Jam)3.20
#428Theme(Jam)3.77
#522Fun(Jam)3.15
#542Humor(Jam)2.61
#614Mood(Jam)3.10
#677Overall(Jam)3.15
#828Graphics(Jam)2.77
#868Innovation(Jam)2.58

Comments

Reccy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:46pm

It was fun to play, but way too hard.
The frequency being at the center of the screen is a little unfair considering you have about a second to react to the incoming obstacles.

Other than that, good game :)

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Very fun game. As someone else said, it is pretty hard, though addictively frustrating like Flappy Bird. My best score is 213.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03pm

Interesting concept. Great choice of name ;)

UntitledQ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Nice game, I really suck at this kind of game tho :(

_stice says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:33pm

Nice one! Good music, good difficulty, nice concept with the oscilloscope, nice awful pun in the title!

Incidentally, my game is a difficult endless runner too, but shitty instead of good :) http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=25573

Ornicar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57pm

Really fun, a bit too hard ^^
Awesome sound design :p

TeamDromedare says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:09pm

Yes. It does really hurt. i was a bit disappointed because the description talked about oscilloscopes and the name is hz in it so naturally I assumed there would be some sort of dinamic audio involved where you use frequencies to solves puzzles or whatnots. Instead I got this, and was pleasantly surprised for about 0.5 seconds; the time it took before the first obstacle moved from it's initial frame on the screen until it hit me.

These games are fun though, but this might be harder than the impossible game, because that game, hard as it may be, actually give you time to react.

If the frequency was changed faster (I assume the yellow things have something to do with the frequency change-speed maybe?) it could be fun. Now it's just annoyingly hard, imo. Not very original either.

2 out of 5 humps.

n00basaurus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Difficulty is more of a cliff than a curve and could be adjust better to prolong play and ease players into a grueling game.

Power-up yellow dot's function is unknown.

Chill house music throughout that sorta changes as you go along. There's at least enough of it that it doesn't become repetitive.

Overall, good jam.

teamross says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:06pm

Nice music and gameplay! good job : )

hamzenzer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Nice game and hard in a fun way!

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36am

If you are planning to develop this further: Add a feature where the BGM gets pitched higher/lower dependent on the player position.

Nice game.

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:48am

I rage quit!!!! It hertz too much! xD Nice litle fun game. Only got 207 hight score :P

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:14am

Addicting! Would be nice to be further to the left but yeah!
The music was great to!

tantumgames says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:07pm

Fun game. Nice gameplay.

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:32pm

It would really help if the learning curve was not a brick wall :D

davidB says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Why A and D to control up and down ? (and not azerty friendly)
IMHO the ball is too slow to dodge.
good music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]