Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Zombie Hammer-Smash Acrobatics

by Khamekaze - Jam Entry

Zombie Hammer-Smash Acrobatics!
Endless runner

Controls:
X to attack when in the air
C to dash (used to get in the air)
Fill the special-meter (by X-ing zombies to death) and perform the special attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#463Theme(Jam)3.73
#520Graphics(Jam)3.45
#522Fun(Jam)3.15
#571Innovation(Jam)3.06
#636Humor(Jam)2.43
#732Overall(Jam)3.09
#783Mood(Jam)2.82

Comments

makiki99 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33am

The idea is here, but the gameplay feels decent at most. Graphics are nice, I like the art style. I don't see the humorous side of this game, maybe except 'swaggy' look of the zombies. The 'zombie apocalypse' mood is present and it is done okay. Overall, a pretty decent game, lacking just some polish.

doitle says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:36am

Fits the theme well and is a fully playable game. I did find that I wished it was quicker to get going again. It seems like a game where you'll die a lot and it is already intended to be played dashing forwards. I think it'd work better if when you died it just re spawned you at the beginning and you could start running again instead of returning to the title screen. It sort of becomes like a temple run or endless runner and could probably get people hooked. Good job.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:09am

Such great music and pixelart. I looks really good to dash over the zombies. Loved the mechanics!

SirJavaGaming says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:09am

Web Version crashes due to missing texture file. Otherwise nice game!

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:48am

You're making good use of the theme. It's fun, but I think it's a little too sensitive when it comes to touching the zombies. I couldn't get very far, but I imagine it'd be quite fun once you get into the flow and fly past the zombies. The music was nice too.

Foofanoo42 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:14am

Brutal, i liked the flow when i was bouncing and smashing but heavy penalty of time for dying. I wish i had a few health bars or something instead of one hit death. Music and studio groans were good.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:13am

Tricky, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/LlS8bcKfkfQ

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:30am

Great game! Very unforgiving hit boxes :) lived the artwork. Great job

philipp says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

I like the idea and it fits the theme well, but (at least the web version) is missing juice. Add a little screenshake, blood and particle effects, this would improve the game feel by so much ;)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00am

The gameplay is very interesting. I like the way you need to combo. I would have liked it if you could restart faster, especially when I started it was quite annoying to die at the third zombie and then have to wait for what seems like quite a while to be able to start your next try.

Diventurer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:38am

I like the graphics and audio, but the controls could have been a bit more polished in my opinion. It is very hard to play for long. It is a nice entry overall.

Aelius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Fits the theme. Didn't got far I suck at this game.

careless says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:30am

Tried and tried but could not get a high score, one run I just used C and managed to keep dashing over and over.

The graphics are quite nice although the buildings could look a bit better. The zombies and hero look cool and the sounds/music are neat.

Love to see people using LibGDX!

Great work

tantumgames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:09pm

Good game, realy fun.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45pm

Pretty interesting mechanic, but it's really hard to consistently land the jumps and stomps.

sikosis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:31am

Does what it says on the tin. Simple gameplay but mechanics all seem to work without a problem. Good entry.

vortex says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:27pm

The graphics and audio were great and you had some interesting gameplay, but the thing I disliked, is that it took so long to restart...

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:32pm

good concept, art and music makes the game interesting to play. first i couldnt do the "x" properly once got used it is awesome to play. can improve on collision over zombies and player dies.
I am new to libgdx, you have done a great work with in the time..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]