Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

stutter step

by Evgenii Petrov - Compo Entry

Stutter step is one-dimensional roguelike (and by roguelike i mean there is no graphic/sound and your success depends solely on random factor like it should be).

*** NOTE: Web version takes some time to load.

Use mouse in menus.
Use 'left' and 'right' arrow keys to play (there is also in-game 'how to play' page with more details).
Move left and right to regenerate health and to manage your weapon stack (try to keep good weapons on you)

Your goal is to reach right side of the map through a path guarded by mobs.

I'm using Source Code Pro font licensed via SIF OFL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#351Mood3.15
#407Innovation3.26
#519Humor2.31
#528Overall3.18
#575Fun3.03

Comments

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:54am

I always love to see rogue likes!

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56am

Crazy... Very Nice

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:06pm

Interesting concept, once you figure it out it's quite fun!

BUNN1E5 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Really cool, confusing at first though.

kmakai says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:54pm

Interesting way to handle weapons/items in a simplified environment. Nice balance to the difficulty curve so far, as well. Great job!

Reggianito says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30pm

Interesting concept. Not really a lot of fun, but a proper translation of the classic roguelikes we all love into two dimensions. The extra symbols as "bvackground" are a cute idea.

This is just personal opinion, but I think that you could add a lot of strategy and fun with some changes like
-after attacking them, enemies will follow you and pick up weapons in their way, so you can't just run until healed and try again
-holding both keys to pick up medipacks/weapons, makes picking up weapons not a chore (fuck you club stop fallin to my right side I don't want to pick you up) and some extra strategy involving saving health for later.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Pretty impressive!

pvtroswold says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Nice job!

Kyace says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:24pm

Nice use of the queue concept as an inventory manager.

Would have liked a way to tell how much damage/cooldown a weapon had without having to pick it up again (perhaps something like a tooltip/mouse hover?). Might suggest making the background characters darker than the weapon over head tiles (there were an embarrassingly high number of times that I though that '^' was a weapon/trap that the enemy was going to use against me). I would have liked some indication of how far behind me the fire was.

Over all, very nice game!

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23am

In terms of gameplay per control key used, this game is probably better than nethack! Very good.

simoroshka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:51pm

Basically you can't make any decisions. And you only use one button. I really don't get the point.

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01pm

This was a really interesting one! Good job!

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52pm

Nice one! I love roguelikes, and this take on them reminds me of The Linear RPG by Sophie Houlden. :D

kostak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Good roglice!

marod says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:51am

Interesting mechanics, but I think they need more work. Great Game!

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:08am

I can only imagine what would happen if mobs also used the same strategy to survive :P

Nice concept on a difficult genre! Congratulations!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:08pm

Nice entry. I wish I could have information about the weapon I currently have at any time, not just when dropping. Still interesting idea. Good job!

francoisvn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:33pm

Really cool. The "auto-pickup rotating through your weapons" thing felt a bit uncomfortable, but it wasn't terrible. If you make this a little bit deeper I think it would work really well as a pickup-n-play mobile game :)

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:06pm

There is no much things to do but I liked this game. Well done !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]