Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lurking Lights

by xiin - Jam Entry

A rogue-lite platformer about a shadowy figure.

Play with XBOX controller, keyboard is sometimes glitchy(You need to press up in front of the door, the game doesn't always recognize it).
Also no build for Edge/Chrome. Maybe just download windows version.

Press up to enter a door (might not work on keyboard
Try letting the timer run out before you enter a door. If you don't you're missing out :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#164Audio(Jam)3.67
#332Graphics(Jam)3.76
#451Mood(Jam)3.29
#853Humor(Jam)1.45
#1001Overall(Jam)2.69
#1005Innovation(Jam)2.17
#1071Theme(Jam)2.31
#1085Fun(Jam)1.89

Comments

Red_Fan games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:15am

Sorry, I use chromium and Linux, and don't have an Xbox controller so i cant really play. :(

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33am

I really liked the art and music, I think that increasing the base movement speed would help alot. I found myself jumping alot of the time as it felt faster and with it being rougue like it can get quite frustrating having to slowly go through the same content.

I'd like to explore the world a little more, so I think there's definatley something there, good job :)

kailijan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27am

I like the mood of this game. The movement speed though feels a little to low, eventhough it's atmospheric. You should think about increasing it a little bit.

RadStar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33am

Weird but I've got no music or sound in game (and my speakers work well) :/
I like the art, but the movement can be improved with a base movement speed a bit faster and a jump height a bit lower.
Good job though ! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

I like the art and music, but, really slow movement, and a lot of problems with graphics, the character walks with the feet inside of the dirt, the lights appears in front of the character. Anyway, nice idea, woork in the idea. Good job :)

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:57am

The mood and graphics for this game were absolutely incredible! I need to know how you did the art! Unfortunately the gameplay was a bit confusing. I look forward to your next submission - keep up the good work!

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:00am

Nice art but you went a little overboard with the slow movements.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14am

I loved the art and music. But you move painfully slow as the first guy and right after I got control of the next character the game ended.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:15am

I like the rogue lite element and the atmosphere of the game :) Good work

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53pm

Great mood, the art style is really cool and the music is nice. Like others have said, increasing the move speed would do wonders... I was hopping everywhere to move faster!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09pm

Sloooow

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12pm

Amazing art and audio, but I struggled to figure out what to do half the time and enemies seem to kill you very fast plus the slow movement speed made me resort to jumping all the time, not sure how this follows the theme. Moods was the strongest point here.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14pm

I enjoyed it. The art and general vibe was cool. Movement definitely felt unnecessarily slow though. Would like to see more in this world!

punkto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Unity Web Player... I can't play it :(

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Exceptional art and mood. I don't like how slow my character is though, it could be sped up a bit, that alone would improve this entry a lot.

jmf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:25pm

Art and music were gorgeous. A bit confused on what my goal was but the feel was great.

scriptorum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:31pm

Couldn't open door on Mac with a controller or up arrow key. Main character walks too slow. :) Nice music and art style, although it was dark on my screen, could barely make out the background.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

The art and music in this game are fantastic! The movement felt a little slow and the game was a bit confusing at times. There were areas where pick ups or platforms would spawn, but I couldn't figure out any way to get to them.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I like the universe of this game, but the monster is moving too slowly, it's really sad because we try to go faster by jumping, so we aren't focused on the mood and the story. Interesting game anyway :)

Louspirit says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58pm

I fell twice and lost my character

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]