Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Carol and the Beanstalk

by MestreRothWP - Compo Entry

(Update: added Mega mirror for the .exe.)

(Update 2: Jump!!! Please don't go forever to the right! You'll get it when/if you try the game. ^^ )

-

Ahoy! This is my first game jam and it has been a pleasure.... Mostly...

Carol and the Beanstalk tells the tale that everyone knows about a bean that maybe grew waaay too big.

Where is the bean taking us to?
What is at the end?

-

Dropbox links to download:
Executable:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/eiwpo2ncgs18050/Carol%20and%20the%20Beanstalk.exe?dl=0
Project:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/v4qn78fdxmh02rb/Carol%20and%20the%20Beanstalk.rar?dl=0

Mega Mirror to executable:
https://mega.nz/#!49d1XLDR

The game was made in GameMaker.
Graphics by me on GraphicsGale and Gimp.
Music on Audacity and my guitar.
Most of the sound effects come from http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/ .

-

I'd love to hear your feedback. If you need reviews, feel free to ask. I'll be playing a lot of jam games.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#309Humor2.75
#346Theme3.89
#365Audio2.88
#501Fun3.13
#571Mood2.83
#672Innovation2.80
#754Overall2.92
#798Graphics2.43

Comments

Mixer says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Nice game, although collisions sometimes felt faulty. It was clear only some parts of the flower collided, however it didn't highlight them.

RyanMan56 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07am

Really fun! Good job! :)

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08am

I like the guitar ditty in the background. Also, are you supposed to be able to walk past the beanstalk? because i did that the first time.... Doesn't seem to be much back there other than bricks in the way!

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15am

Epic game, geat use of the themes !

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

Welcome to LD! Congratulations on making your first jam! Just finishing is already a great job~

Pro:
+ Music was simple, but nice, works with the game.
+ Jumping higher than the atmosphere and the ending is funny xp
Con:
- Physics was a bit awkward(I fell through the leaves sometimes, double jumping felt strange, when the character hit a leaf from the bottom he/she gravitated upwards)
- I felt the graphics a bit confusing.. There were pixel art, hand drawn and gradient.
OBS:
o First time I played I just went ahead and kept going forward forever
o When you die you can still run and jump
o It's weird to have a platformer without back.. I understand that it's supposed to fit the theme, but I don't know about the lack of control...
o So easy to go out of the atmosphere xp

Congratz and good work!

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

Mixer, first of all, thanks for playing and for the feedback. Only the leaves are supposed to work as platform, but they are not perfect, you're right.

Ryan and eerongal, thanks a lot. =) Can you believe that I forgot to close the road through the ground? You know, we play it a thousand times and mostly the same way.

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:57am

Thanks, Saymon. It means a lot. :)

Aleph, I guess I didn't communicate some ideas well, then, because you're not the first one passing below the plant instead of jumping and only the leaves are the platforms. Between them there is really no collision.

Thanks for the input. I agree with you, specially with the bizarre art (lack of) style.

zybit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:44am

Poor Carol... I killed her too many times.

MorseAmalgam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:19am

Jumping felt a little finnicky, and sometimes it seemed like you could just drop through the platforms without warning. Only other thing is that logo - blue text on a blue background doesn't work very well.

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:31am

Congrats on the first jam! Fun, but very difficult!
I feel like just slightly tweaking the speed of carol's movement and the size of the leaves would help a lot! That being said, the art is charming and you made great use of the themes! 'v'

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:29am

Nice game, I've been addicted to it, I really wanna know what's up there. But don't have that much time to try. Gonna keep the game on my drive for a while:)

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:26pm

zybit, you sound like if you are *almost* sorry for doing it. But don't worry, Carol doesn't die. Carol only morphs into underdevelop particles.

Morse, I wanted to make a very discrete HUD. Obviously it also didn't work for the meter on the right. :P

About the jump/difficulty, Morse and Grace, you do have a point. I love difficult games, but I tweaked it before releasing because it was even worse. :P

About the platforming, only the leaves serve as support. It wasn't well communicated and this is something very important I learned from your precious feedback.

qwetro, maybe a cake. Or cookies. Or puppies! :D

Tonight I'll play and review your games, in case I didn't already. Thanks A LOT for your feedback. Really. <3

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Nice game, a couple of times my guy got stuck and dragged up to the leaf but other than that I enjoyed it.

nihilaleph says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:50am

I see, but it was weird that some times I could actually stand between leaves, I guess it was under certain circumstances.
About running past the leaves, I actually did understand that I was suppose to climb, but I wanted to see what happened if I just went ahead xp
And the graphics, although they felt incoherent they were nice!

Still, great job!

ViKing Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:53am

I beat it! Everyone else has pretty much already said my thoughts, but to add on:

Pros:
-Nice animations and particles, I love the beanstalk growing
-Good-looking backgrounds
Cons:
-The text at the start blended into the background too much

Good job!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00am

Good work adding both themes into this. The two button controls, however, felt like it was more limiting than helpful. I liked how quickly I could retry and the UFOs were a nice touch.

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36am

Perfect usage of the themes. Loved the particle effects, gameplay was very fun though it sometimes had bugs with collision boxes I think? Great job overall

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:09am

Great effort, I'd echo what others have said about the collisions.

Drauthius says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:46pm

I thoroughly enjoyed completing this game. It felt very much doable while it was simultaneously kinda difficult. The random collision-detection did make it harder, but it also ensured that I didn't simply jump around willy nilly. Overall rather nice!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:10pm

I had fun.

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:40pm

Finally made it to the top! It has that "just one more go" quality to it. The audio levels were off: the music was super quiet compared to the sound effects. Fun game and good use of both themes.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:57am

I love the fact that i can still jump after dying :P.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]