Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pyromaniac 3 -- 2

by _benhumphries - Compo Entry

15 years after the critically acclaimed fire-fighter fighting simulator, Pyromaniac 3, there is finally a sequel: Pyromaniac 3 -- 2.

Grow your fire throughout each level, wreaking havoc on volunteer firemen.

Made with Unity3D in 48 hours for LD34.

I was a little crunched on time so I don't have sound and I only have one music file (sorry).

The easiest way to play this game is through the Unity Web Player on itch.io. Unfortunately Google Chrome doesn't support the Web Player but Firefox, Internet Explorer, and Opera will run it perfectly.

Controls:

A & D or left arrow & right arrow --> move left/move right

space --> jump

mouse1 --> shoot

********************************************************************
The only thing that I didn't make myself for this game was the font.
It is free for use and linked here: http://www.1001freefonts.com/seaweed_fire.font

If for some reason the link to itch.io doesn't work, this should be the correct link:

http://-benhumphries.itch.io/pyromaniac-3-2

For some reason some people still get 404 errors. Here is the link to my itch.io profile (you should be able to access it from there):
http://-benhumphries.itch.io/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#368Humor2.62
#426Innovation3.23
#526Graphics3.00
#545Fun3.07
#550Audio2.49
#649Mood2.73
#767Overall2.89
#768Theme3.32

Comments

Jordan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:50am

Itch.io is giving a 404 even when I remove the (extra?) character at the beginning. Looks cool, I'd love to play if you can fix the URL.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:52am

There shouldn't be an extra character at the beginning (assuming you're talking about the dash). That's part of my username I think.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:04am

Great job, you could have submitted this for LD33 (be the monster). would have liked different music each level, but ok.

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53am

Very simple mechanic but it's not bad, i like it! Nice song.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53am

404 not found :/

rplnt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19am

Nice idea :) Only the shooting felt a bit out of place.

ThaRemo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25am

Good job, I like it! It's a little short and the music gets repetative after a while, but it's fun.

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:29am

Cool game and cool idea! Only the movement is not so comfortable but its ok.

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:47am

I'm stuck on the 3rd level..
You're using Unity 3D. Why not use WebGL build to increase compatibility?

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:27pm

Nice game. Too much fire though.

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:08am

Interesting! I like your interpretation of the theme. The mechanics work pretty well except shooting doesn't feel that great. Honestly though, I forgot I could even shoot the first time I played through it. I just waited until the firemen burned to death, evading their attacks. Since shooting doesn't seem like an important mechanic I don't think it's a big deal.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:11am

Its really rare.
Nice thinking of growing by the way

Andarilhoz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:14am

Like the gameplay, and the idea of spreading the fire, but the controls where a little weird, and you should put some sound effects, would make it really cool with fire sounds

Soka says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33am

Fun at first but gets repetitive

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:38am

A surprisingly relaxing game! A bit easy, though.

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:28am

Interesting idea, burn it all, lol

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:06pm

It was a fun little game. For some reason I didn't hear any music but that might be a problem with my pc. Also the firemen could be a little harder to fight to make the game more interesting. I only shot at them once because after that I realized that once I've jumped onto their firetruck they wouldn't get at me anyway.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43am

Oh no, I couldn't get it to work! The web version the flame didn't seem to move, couldn't find an O/S version, and my computer stinks at exe's, so my bad. What am I doing wrong??

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:06am

I'm not sure why the web version's flame didn't move, but I'll look into it. I don't have a build specifically for O/S, so I can't do much for you right now if you can't run exe's. If I can reproduce the web version's glitch and fix it I'll let you know.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:48am

Best thing about this game:
The graphics were pretty good! Even though you often used simple shapes it still worked well.

Suggestion:
I think the main thing this game is lacking is difficulty. Wasn't really anything stopping me from spamming the mouse in one direction and racing through the level.

Jezzamon says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:52am

Oh, also the music was very very quite. I think you want to make it a little louder next time

Astro Cat says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:44pm

Cool game!

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:51pm

I had fun playing this, nice graphic as well :-) great job!

flakoflak says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:32am

Didn't feel the shooting right. good work.

squarebridges says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:22am

Link doesn't work for me, either.

shahid says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Well done! An impressive amount of work in such a short space of time and fun!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:52am

Nice game, a bit easy - i was able to reliably jump over all the firemen and just wait till the secondary fires consumed them. I was also excited when I found I could push the fire engines around - perhaps you could add a mechanic based on pushing fire engines into fires or off cliffs or something?

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:42am

awesome)

gladers says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Fun game and great use of the theme! The addition of the mini map was nice too!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:13pm

Being a firefighter myself, this game was unnerving! Very interesting though, loved the minimap view uptop and the silly firefighter ai - a great unique entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]