Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Chris Rostcowsky - The game

by Shovix - Jam Entry

This is simple endless runner type game.

We control Chris and we need to collect cigarettes​ as many as possible. Our hero is helpless so we have to wear the hood to avoid enemies. First level is just city rush with a few urban obstacles such as trashcans. Second level is Chris school and here we will jump over some backpacks and firecrackers.
* FEATURES *

>Cool pixel graphics

>Few chiptunes

>No idea

* CONTROLS *

Z - jump
X - hood
Space - restart
Escape - Exit

* CREDITS *

Code - Shovix
Music - Shovix
Graphics - Shovix
Idea - Shovix
Sound fx - Shovix

Music made using Modplug Tracker
Sound effects made using Goat Tracker
Graphics made using Aseprite
Created in Multimedia Fusion 2

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#628Audio(Jam)2.67
#679Humor(Jam)2.33
#731Theme(Jam)3.42
#945Mood(Jam)2.41
#995Graphics(Jam)2.08
#1003Fun(Jam)2.38
#1020Innovation(Jam)2.08
#1044Overall(Jam)2.58

Comments

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:59pm

I liked the premise and the character was cute, but i found the game quite hard unfortunately, and couldn't get past level one :(

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:45pm

Interesting idea. Subtitle is mildly offensive. Gets to be a bit hard because it's a little too random but otherwise nifty infinite runner.

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:26pm

Nice little runner! Took me a while to understand you had to use the hood on the bullies and jump over the rest...

anv says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:52pm

Great "vintage" visuals and music, consistent through entire game. Gameplay is pretty basic. Bonus points for nostalgia.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:03pm

Little retro-looking game, but sooo much hard, sometime a trash spawn close to an other, and we can't jump over them.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:37pm

I liked your concept and laughed hard at putting my hood because of the bad guys
The bonus thing is almost invisible, and the mechanics are pretty rude.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:28am

Liked:
- The art style and the music. They had a nice oldschool vibe that was consistent for the game
- The "hood" move. I like games that add a unique touch, and I thought the hood was funny

Disliked:
- The "cooldown" time on the hood ability was frustrating
- Obstacles sometimes spawned in unfair ways that felt impossible to pass

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:41am

Offensive... but decent gameplay.

I wanna focus here on why its offensive: not because you used the word "retard" but because I believe you probably did it because you thought you'd get a good humor score. The word retard is a super cheap laugh and it feels patronizing that you think I think it'll do that.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]