Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Bunny Block

by argosenpaikun - Jam Entry

Bunny Block, is a game you've played as Bunny (Bun Bun) has the ability to change color and hop on top of the colored blocks of platform. Collect the crystal and avoid the deadly spikes and hitting the afront of the block while you run forward along the way until you reach the end of the level.

Note:
The game is not entirely complete which is the record and some few other things. I only able to cover the main game mechanics and level selects.

There will be 5 available levels. Each levels has its own difficulties.

The controls:
The game theme is "two button controls" which is: (Keyboard control)

Z - JUMP
X - CHANGE COLOR

"Menu control"
ENTER - Interact selection
P - Screenshot

"This part is where u need to leave the game or going back to the menu"
ESC - Return back to menu

"Doesn't have enough time to program the pause menu."

Requirement: The game requires Java which is need to be download, updates and install first before running the game.

Future: The game will be develop on android device.

I want to credit:
ForeignGuyMike

For providing a nice tutorial.

YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/user/ForeignGuyMike

Downloads and Links


Ratings


Warning: asort() expects parameter 1 to be array, null given in /mnt/data/lsws/public-compo/wp-content/plugins/compo2/results.php on line 241


Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /mnt/data/lsws/public-compo/wp-content/plugins/compo2/results.php on line 243

Comments

pcmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Hi, I cannot run this :(
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/argogames/bunnyblock/BunnyBlock : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:40pm

Hello, sorry for the late replies, did u separated the Bunny Block.jar and lib folder. Make sure both file and the folder are together. Without that it will show that error.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:43pm

If the error still the same, it means you're machine is currently using the old Java version. Make sure you download the latest Java version on the link I gave at the description. Very sorry if its bother you. >w<)

antonuklein says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Not a fan of it becoming full screen and making my resolution down to a tiny box on the screen, and not a fan of the use of Nintendo's music, along with it sometimes unfairly immediately killing me (switching a bit earlier than intended sometimes does kill you instantly), but overall it's a simple idea that's solid, although it feels a bit like it's trying too hard to fit in too much into its controls.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:17am

Thanks, hope I can improve further more... =T

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:12am

Nice game... but i suck at it! I cant play these color games.. Im to dumb to change colors fast lol
Anyway.. you have a nice concept here. Congrats.

Grahhhhh says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:03am

I actually enjoyed this, I thought the graphics and sounds were good. The problem for me was I couldn't remember the color change scheme, maybe if you added some kind of display that shows what's next on the progression?

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:39am

Ah I see, yeah I planned to do that but I unable to finish it due of the gamejam due dates. Because I hard coded the game so yeah. It's really took alot of times >w<)a

beetracks says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:58am

Wow!!! Awesome! Nice soundtrack, sound effects, graphics, animations! The only thing I didn't like that it messed up a bit my screen resolution (I use two monitors and it affected both). First game I played so far that did it, but I really enjoyed the game! Congratulations! Nice work!

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:03pm

Oh really, sorry sorry.... It my first time playing with libGDX ( >w<) i hope it wont be a second time...

oz2mura says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:21pm

Really enjoyed this one, sound effects were done well, music is fitting. Pixel art is really cute. Game-play was pretty challenging, and I liked it a lot. It's like one of those brain age games that make you really think it all out, I feel smarter just playing you game.

Looking forward to what you make in the future!

Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:19pm

Hey! Do u have no respect for the original creator of this game? U simply just copied his game directly and just change the character while claiming its your own game? This was from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=85A1w1iD2oA&list=PL-2t7SM0vDfdYJ5Pq9vxeivblbZuFvGJK
I am totally positive that u just copied his game.

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Nice idea with control for changing color. I really appreciated that you made the game in java, you must be really brave! The game is hard to finish because my brain has some delay to pick the right color.
Nice job in this game!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:40am

well I quite enjoyed this game until I found out that you have copied almost the entire thing without credit. I appreciate the effort but please at least give credit :)
I still voted fairly in case I have misinterpreted the situation.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:20am

Yeah ur right most i did actually copy based on its BGM and other than that i did by myself (I hope i didnt make some game which actually like one). The art is really came from my hand draw *most of it i looks like some game*

Is ok, I'll appreciate it. =T Thank you btw....

Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:06am

Changing the character does not give you any rights in claiming as a game made whole by you when every assets in the game that are used are from the original creator himself. You might get away with this one but the one infringed with copyrights and legal issue, you might want to rethink twice before doing anything stupid. Just saying this because I care for the original creator who spend times creating this game, making tutorial videos and you just take all his work and claiming it was yours without even crediting the owner.

argosenpaikun says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:21am

I see thank you....

Yellowbyte says ...
Feb 18, 2016 @ 1:16pm

Stolen game. Couldn't even think of original title, just switched the words around. 'argosenpaikun'? more like 'istealyourgamenpaikun'!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]