Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Balanced Diet

by ciobeni - Compo Entry

​Hey you! It's time to eat healthy!
See how many fruits you can eat. While keeping balance on a unicycle!
Watch your weigth, you get heavier and bigger as you eat!
And remember to not bang your head against the walls, it hurts.

Controls:
​Use the Left and Right arrows to move the unicycle.

Made Using:
- HaxeFlixel
- Inkscape
- Bfxr and Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness96%
#128Humor3.33
#480Theme3.74
#498Innovation3.13
#545Fun3.07
#573Audio2.42
#618Overall3.08
#633Mood2.75
#661Graphics2.77

Comments

quacklemtduck says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:43pm

A fun and hard little game, i just don't like that you lose a lot of points by hitting the wall, maybe you could make it an endless thing.

SayRafon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:43pm

I hate monocycle ! Difficult and fun, good job ^^

mackthehobbit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:45pm

This was quite fun, and really challenging. I liked the derpy face!

paraxite says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:09pm

Great game. As the others have said, hate that bumping into the wall loses points.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:10pm

Its stupid stuff like this that becomes as big as Flappy Bird. Well done!

ciobeni says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:13pm

Thank you!
About the walls. When I started this I had an endless game in mind. But I implemented the walls because with some luck, you were able to just go off in one direction and get some really high scores.

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:34pm

Good graphics and nice gameplay. I just didn't think it was very entertaining (personaly). But I can see if other people would like it. (a little bit to frustrating for my taste).

nexust says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Very challenging! I feel like this could be one of those wildly popular games based on the fact that it is so tricky. As a mobile game with leaderboards, this could take off like Flappy Bird (pun absolutely intended)

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18pm

That is hard to play, Nice concept though.

jacobturn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26pm

VERY VERY VERY hard

teamross says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Fuuu walls! x)
Really challenging and funny. Just a bit hard.
Good Job!

shcromlet says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33am

I am so bad at this game.

Ornicar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:00pm

Really challenging

Haokarlos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:14pm

Nice one!

Taldius says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:45pm

I really like the idea, it's simple but it works. The game is hard but feels good to play. The art is pretty fun too.
Good job!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:04pm

Good job on the physics, but you need to add a small random force so the player can start moving and balance right away. Also didn't like how hitting the wall immediately reset your score.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Very hard! Fun concept, but it could be better if you had a more gentle difficulty curve, instead of immediately super-hard ;)

Wevel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Cool came, very hard to play.

piper82 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:56pm

clean graphics, too steep learning curve for my taste. fun for a while. good one.

Efuvex says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Got 9 lel.

01010111 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:26am

I came really close to doing something similar! Anyway, it's super tough to balance, but it's a fun game! I think you could add some comedy with more animations on the face - something like those gameboy camera DJ animations would have suited it really well!

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Kinda cute and amusing. Incredibly hard to get much score though, I didn't get any more than 5.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:54pm

Really funny ! I'm not much of a unicycler though :(
Well done for your game.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:52am

I liked the graphics and the smooth physics in the game!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:58am

This game strongly evokes the fundamental futility underlying all human endeavors.

My score was 7.

mekewi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:38am

it's good idea but if you make it endless or leveled it will be more fun

TheBonk500 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 12:36pm

Its challenging but maybe some different game modes. but that was the main thing that I felt was missing.

Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:39pm

This is just too hard for words. I almost got the hang on it, but even so I can't get very far.

Still, funny graphics, good audio, and good use of the theme. Could this be the next generation's QWOP?

Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:25pm

Logo splash sounded cool, but the rest sounded ok at best.

-Alex

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]