Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Environment Interface

by Neroxis - Jam Entry

Environment Interface is a environment and economy simulation same.
It was created by Geosearchef and Neroxis within 72 hours.
All sounds, music, images and code were entirely done by us.

How to play:

Trees produce oxygen which helps to keep your atmosphere healthy.
Building stuff costs wood and stone which are produced by woodcutters and mines.
Houses provide workers for transport and your other buildings they consum small amounts of energy and food.
Energy is produced by oil pumps and burning coal, which efect the environment in different ways. Windmill also produce energy but are costly.

First steps:
Build a oil pump and a house.
Plant 2-3 Trees.
Build a woodcutter and two houses.
Wait as long as possible befor you build a farm and another two houses.
Finally build a mine and two more houses.
From here on you are on your own.
Keep an eye on the air pollution and try to damage the groundwater the least possible.
Let's see how big your city will grow!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

SeaDads says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:35pm

Couldn't really see the entire bottom bar of the interface as the default windowed resolution was bigger than my monitor resolution? And couldn't fullscreen it? :(

Ace says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

I felt like more descriptions were sorely lacking, had no idea about what any of the buildings really were. Their effects were more obvious, but that involves actually building and crewing them just to figure out what it will do.

More of the same in the rest of the UI, why does the change values for all the resources not correlate with the actual amount of resources?
Knowing that you're gaining wood is all good and that, but it should really show when the usable wood is delivered, not when a tree is chopped down.
And what was the yellow bar? Overall pollution level?

The placing of buildings was a slight bit strange too, why have the ghost be green when a building can't be placed because of missing resources?
And the tree planting felt strange too, I had no idea if I was actually planting trees or pouring green color on the dirt.

Maybe transports should prioritize resources that are running low as well, managed to run out of food even thought reportedly my farms produced over ten surplus.

Just my series of thoughts on how to improve the game, overall a nice little RTS game though.

blurryroots says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:34am

Took me a while to identify the different types of buildings. I had fun playing this. Cool idea having to balance the ecosystem. And the little workers whizzing around had a real city building vibe. Great entry ;)

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:23pm

My city died pretty fast, for some reason my resources wouldnt grow even though everything was on + side o.o
Liked the tress growing and taking over the world :)

Neroxis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Hi AzureAspect
First of all big thanks for playing our game.
If you want to survive longer you could try follow the gameplay video as much as possible. The build which is used there is very stable in the early game.
I hope you'll give it another try;)

Neroxis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:27pm

It's also very important to build about twice as much houses than other buildings, because most buildings need two humans (a worker and a carrier) to be effective. In fact some buildings which produce at a high rate (e.g. farm) should be supported by at least two carriers.

Claire1605 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:51pm

Really liked the concept of this and wanted to play it for longer, but it was really hard to know what was what and what to do next, nothing is labelled or really explained except in a huge block of text at the start, which I would have to quite the game and re-start in order to read again! I think this could be really cool if the interface and explanations were a bit more user friendly though :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:30pm

A very well rounded entry, it took me a few minutes to figure out what was going on though. I'm always fascinated with little people doing little people things hahaha

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]