Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sector 9

by alvaromartin - Compo Entry

Theme:

Two Buttons

Plot:

Our planet is running out of water. Oceans disappeared years ago, and underground water has been the only source for generations. SECTOR 9 scientists have found 5 alien components that make water multiply. Your mission is to collect all the components and prepare for atmosphere deployment.

Technology Stack:

Haxe and Haxeflixel engine
Intellij IDEA + haxe plugin for development
Photoshop PyxelEdit and Tiled for graphics
Cubase with Komplete for music

Social:

Follow me on twitter! https://twitter.com/alvaromartinl

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Graphics4.03
#193Overall3.63
#224Fun3.52
#228Audio3.20
#298Mood3.25
#418Theme3.81
#561Humor2.20
#785Innovation2.58
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

lekochen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Gameplay, graphics and music are all very well done. But this game is sooo hard especially the last part of level 5.

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:47pm

graphics and gameplay are good. Wasn't sure how the gameplay met the overview of the game.

pontooncity says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44am

Not the most unique thing, but really well executed. Excellent graphics.

Leaghorn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:48am

fun but hard as hell. Also addicting as hell. Nice graphics too

CalmKai says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

Good game!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00am

Cool intro. Level design is good but really hard, you really need to add some checkpoints. Musics is good. I'd really like to see what else is here but I've tried level 2 like 30 times and it's just way too hard. I feel like I could struggle for 10 more minutes just to get past level 2.

LeReveur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49am

Hard but fun.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

Really well put together game!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35am

Very well polished. I would have enjoyed a tile set change up, but all around good work

ChuiGum says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:37am

Loved the graphics, nice concept too. Good job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:48am

Loved the neon color splash choices.

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Very good endless runner! The second level can be really unforgiving but this was quite fun to play.

jdoughty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:05am

This game is a cohesive whole, very solid. Good job man!

Galvesmash says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:52am

I loved the thing with gravity!

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Great art - particularly liked the character. Fun gameplay as well, though even some of the earlier jumps are tricky to time. Some tweaks to the difficulty ramp might help, or checkpoints. Nice work overall :)

Jesse Freeman says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:45pm

Really like the art and the shifting gravity so you walk on the ceiling. By shifting gravity I felt like jumping wasn't really as important so maybe you could use that 2nd action button for something else. Good job!

Eduardo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:13pm

cool!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 1:47pm

I like the graphics and the game is easily understood and very well presented.

What can improve?
- Level 1 (tutorial) is maybe too long.

- the barriers and lasers don't look too dangerous in the first place. When you I meet the obstacles I'm not 100% they're dangerous.

- I'd like to have a faster pace, it feels kind of slow.

Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]