Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Retro Rebound Challenge!

by schizoid2k - Compo Entry

A take on the classic retro pong-style games of the past. Use the left and right arrow keys to move your paddle. Guide the ball into the basket. Various obstacles will make it more difficult. The hole in the floor grows the longer you take.

This game has 10 levels.

Depending on feedback, I may continue development.

Written with Unity, Paint.net, Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#362Fun3.31
#478Innovation3.16
#500Audio2.60
#570Overall3.13
#646Humor1.95
#699Theme3.43
#706Graphics2.65
#785Mood2.42

Comments

srakowski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Fun take/twist on an arkanoid style game, frustratingly fun trying to get that ball into that cup! Well done :)

Catblocker says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:07pm

I think it was a good and innovative game, taking insperation from older games and freshing it up.

One thing that might be an improvment is to remove (or reduce) the player acceleration. I don't know if this would be better because i havent testet it. But it feels like I would enjoy the game more like that.

One thing that annoyed me sometimes was that the ball didn't always bounce like you expected it too. For example if the ball hits the roof it will always ( i think atleast ) go straigth down. (some music would be nice too!)

Other wise, a really good game :)

Niphram says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:08pm

Nice concept! I like the challenge (Thank god for the level shortcut-keys :P)

Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:43pm

Challenging, fun game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/vvV25Dw2BHg

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:30pm

Thanks Jupi... I appreciate the review!

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:57pm

Catblocker... I did notice that the ball dropped incorrectly after seeing your post, and this will be fixed in a bug release soon. Thanks!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:09am

Nice game! I like when the breakout mechanics are added in.

4burner says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21am

This was good fun! A great new twist on the concept, and you get an extra star in Audio for the amazing synchronicity that occured when I groaned hitting the side of the basket...

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:22am

Fun game! I love action puzzle type things

Shurty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Hey !
Nice Game but SO HARD and pretty frustrating !
Good work

blurryroots says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:33pm

Hard but fun. Feels very polished. Sometimes there was some sort of glitch though, where the ball got accelerated to ridiculous speeds for no apparent reason xD

LostTrainDude says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08pm

I have noticed what Catblocker said as well, but nonetheless I enjoyed playing it. I didn't expect the borders of the screen to "open up" so this was a nice "ooh" moment when I figured out.

Also, hearing the mumble of complain when you hit the border of the basket cracked me up!

Really nice entry! Well done!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Fun and creative idea for a game. It would have been better if the player speed was a bit stabilized.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:21pm

Thanks everyone. I apprecate you checking it out. I am considering continuing development, as I have a few ideas I want to implement.

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Very nice. When that ball speed picks up it really gets challenging. Great game for a weekend's worth.

AndyBrown says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:12pm

interesting take, the rotating target with the blocking green blocks on it got really challenging. Nice job!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:24pm

There is space for innovation in pong, after all!

illraceyou says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:53am

A nice idea that reminded me of breakout, though it has a few issues like not having very much influence over where the ball bounces using the edge of your paddle and needing to wait a while for the bucket to rotate sometimes (would have preferred it to be faster). The "awh!" sound effect was funny and a nice touch. Some background music really would have helped too!

pkenney says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:16am

Cool idea for a variant on the bouncing ball vs paddle genre. It was an interesting twist that you included gravity in your simulation.

I loved the near-miss sound effect, but I could have done with a little less text. You could definitely remove some, for example I don't need text to tell me "ball speed increased" because that's going to be something I'll notice.

If you continue development I think you could stand to add a little juice, go watch that famous "juice it or lose it" video on youtube for many fine ideas! Since there were very few interactive feedback points it felt a little bit sterile to knock the ball around, but that's easily fixed.

Warboys says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:28am

OWWWWHHH! My feelings exactly ;)

I found the first 'lets start easy' level to be the hardest! At least until I got to the green blocks and then I was screwed :P

The ball seems to have physics applied to it? So it didn't feel completely like breakout (where it would always reach a wall and bounce), so that was interesting. I wish the gap below you would open up a lot slower on the harder levels, or maybe reset a bit after losing a ball. It's even possible to lose a ball and then the gap is so big that your next ball is impossible to reach in time. So work that out and I can see it being a lot more fun :)

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Lots of good suggestions... thanks everyone!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:36pm

What I really like is the sound when you almost finish the level :D Very similar to Homer's "dough"!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 4:42pm

The opening door on the bottom of the screen is a nice idea. The fact that the gravity kind of apply to ball ( slower on upper screen, faster on lower screen ) makes the game really difficult sometime. I also randomly finished 3-4 level near the end without having to touch the ball.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:56pm

Interesting and innovative take on a classic, well done!

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:06pm

cool game and intersting to play as the level progress..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]