Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Plank

by Sir Magic - Jam Entry

Plank is a game where you play as a cube who can change shape to suit the tasks around it. I managed to make this thing in 3.5 hours! Have fun! (Sorry for lack of screenshots)

Edit: Shadows weren't rendering as well as audio and scene issues for specific devices. Fixed now :)

Edit 2: Slower devices were struggling with a certain stage in play tests, fixed now.

Edit 3: Added Web support! Now enjoy playing without the need for download (but fullscreen requires download)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#130Innovation(Jam)3.73
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#464Fun(Jam)3.21
#692Overall(Jam)3.13

Comments

kabel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:22pm

There is not much room for expansion here. Okay for a two day jam, I guess. Music would've been nice, a cleaner design, with shadows, would have been better as well as visually better instructions...

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Okay, thank you for your time. I will take into count what you said and use it for my next games.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:10pm

MEGA BIEN OVER COOL BEST GAME I LOVED IT I WISH IT HAD MORE LEVELS TO IT

exhidor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:49pm

The idea is really nice, you exploit well the concept throw the map design. Well done ! I was sad to see that it was a short game ! :P

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52pm

Thanks exhidor! :)

iszlonn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:57pm

Nice core idea, I would love to see it develop with more levels! Keep it up!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Thanks iszlonn! :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:01pm

Cool idea

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:47pm

Baah......
Cant play it on a mac!! :|

Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Quite a nice game, loved the concept. Too bad there weren't any checkpoints. Well done!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:12pm

+DinnerInTheDark Thanks!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:13pm

+mukult Sorry dude but if I made mac I wouldn't know if it would work
P.S: I used to be a mac user. No joke, PC's are better.

ohmaigawd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:49pm

I love the concept! It would be nice if the player could control the camera (zoom in/out, rotate) because it was a little bit hard to see sometims. Overall pretty fun game :D

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Thanks!

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Interesting mechanic, could have used some time to make more with it besides a tutorial tho.

Reccy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Fun game, cool idea. :)
Wish it was a bit longer though.

fistmaker says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:39pm

Neat idea! not too hard, but still fun. I like the concept.

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Very short game but I enjoyed it. An option to zoom the camera would have been nice, but otherwise a very nice game.

Jajo says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:10pm

Ending was a slight anti-climax, but I'm impressed you made a fun puzzle game that actually fits the theme.

shrapx says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:15pm

nice idea, short (sometimes long), but i see you made in 3.5 hours, which is productive, though :D

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Pretty nice concept. Could use more varied and complex levels to fully show off game mechanics, but definitely works as a proof of concept.

schizoid2k says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:29pm

Not bad for 3.5 hours! Decent concept that you could expand on.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Your game is exactly what I wait from Ludum Dare. There is nothing in your game (it's not a criticism) - no amazing or complex code, no beautiful textures, no incredible FX... But this is one of the best games which I have seen for LD34. Simple and addictive with a strange mood and a minimalist aesthetic - and overall, you respect the theme. One of my favorites. Thumbs up - five stars ++

CartoonJenn says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Very cool concept!

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:27pm

Thanks for all the feedback, guys! I'm just glad to see people playing it :)

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:29pm

Ratehr short but well working game. Maybe add rotation next time to make game more interesting? :)

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:08am

I really liked the game. Any Safari users might want to check out a non-Web version. The music is amazing, and the concepts are great.

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:34am

It's a bit buggy with the collision, but nice game, nice idea and fun to play. Liked them music!

ssodelta says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Nice little game! ;D liked it

dmecke says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Very cool idea for the game mechanics! I think that idea has a lot of potential when it is done more polished (it cannot be polished in 3.5 hours of course). I found the camera to be too close to the ground and maybe 3d isnt even necessary at all? Reducing it to 2d would focus the user more on that interesting base concept and away from issues with the orientation and obviously the graphics.
After all, very well done!

Split82 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:48pm

Nice idea, simple, but fun. Good job.

Tommislav says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I liked it. It wasn't very hard, but a nice entry. Good background music.

Madball says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Pretty good for 3.5 hours. Though graphics are simple, gameplay seems promising. If only it was longer.

And yes, the glitches. You saw them.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Pretty cool idea although it could be more interesting if there was more physics involved e.g. making your plank wobble if it's slightly unbalanced on one end (Traversing large gaps seems way too easy if you just grow to your maximum length).

pokipsy says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:01am

Really cool concept and solid execution for 3.5 hours. Well done!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Neat concept! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:27pm

I really enjoyed that shrinking and growing changes your speed. I also like the way you tech the player with text in some areas without stopping the action.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]