Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Island Defence

by Epicruins195 - Jam Entry

FIXED THE BROKEN LINKS

You play as an island expanding into the vast ocean, while defending against greedy pirates that hunger for the treasure buried beneath your core.

Made in 72 hours for the Ludum Dare 34 Jam.

TOOLS
- Unity
- MonoDevelop
- Gimp
- Blender
- Sublime Text 3
- Dropbox

INSTRUCTIONS
- Left mouse: Erupt, Right mouse: Grow
- Middle mouse button: move camera

- Expand your island
- Grow forests to produce Life Power
- Upgrade your volcano (by placing adjacent mountains) to produce Lava

- Pirates will periodically attack, with the goal of escaping with the treasure buried beneath your volcano
- Shoot the pirates with lava at the beginning
- Build up mountains and jungles to funnel and defeat invading pirates
- Once it is dug up, the pirates will try to escape with the treasure - but you can still delay them

- Survive for as many turns as possible AND
- Have fun (I hope)

KNOWN ISSUES
- Game balance may be completely off, I don't know. I haven't had enough time to test it properly (I barely "completed" the game in time).
- There are sound and music buttons in game, but no actual audio. I didn't have time to implement any.

FUTURE DIRECTION
If I continue to work on this game, which I probably will at some point:
- Game balancing
- More ways to defeat pirates
- Multiple pirate units (E.G. Pirate Bosses, flying steampunk pirates?)
- Visual connection of tiles (E.G. mountains forming together instead of just repeating)
- In-game tutorial
- Only being able to expand from existing ground tiles
- Actual models for pirate units
- Saving/loading games
- Scenarios
- Smarter pirates (or dumber depending of difficulty)
- A way to remove mountains
- Larger maps
- A better title
- Procedural generation
- Optimization
- Music and sound effects

CHANGELOG
v1.0.1
- Fixed units pathing across mountains when they shouldn't
- Fixed infinite ensnaring of treasure-carrying units

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#217Overall(Jam)3.65
#230Innovation(Jam)3.53
#253Theme(Jam)3.97
#269Graphics(Jam)3.90
#331Fun(Jam)3.39
#585Humor(Jam)2.54
#614Mood(Jam)3.10

Comments

Caspila says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:38am

Looks like the links are broken!

flukeshot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:42am

Yeah, links are broken atm.

AuthorX says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:47am

Broken links - did you make your game public on itch.io?

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50am

I'll be original

Links are broken! :(

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:50am

Oops, forgot to make it public. Fixed the broken links.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:26am

Really enjoyed the graphics and the idea and design. Only complaint would be that at a certain point you just can't stop them, not enough lava. Still fun though! :)

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:41am

Brilliant game, solid gameplay and I just love the graphics. So nice and soothing :)

AdamAlexander says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:51am

The game looks great, and it's fun being able to build up your island. Couldn't entirely figure out how the mountains affected the pirates, sometimes they would just walk over the tops of them. Also I didn't know what to do with all my life energy, I guess this is for future content? Overall it looks like the makings of a great game!

Strike says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03am

Good, now my entire office is trying to figure out what's the best way to build this island :D

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32am

@Charging Llama
Thanks! I cut it close getting the game finished as is, didn't really have time to balance it much. The game seemed too easy so I made it much harder before release, maybe I went too far?

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:34am

@AdamAlexander
Thanks. The pirates are supposed to avoid the mountains unless there are no other possible paths, but my implementation isn't exactly what you'd call "good code". Life energy is mainly used to grow jungles which damage the pirates. Could be explained better in game, but I ran out of time for a tutorial.

micky says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15am

good concept, had some fun playing :)

AdamsMcCall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:29am

Awesome game, nice concept, nice graphics :D

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:34am

Hey man, awesome game! I probably played 45 minutes. Really great start and could have been superb if you had some more time. Was surprisingly fun even tho there was so little. A bit of audio, more options and difficulty would really help, but it seems you know a lot of what you need to do.
Got to 800 moves and got bored because it didn't get any harder, and also it was too slow waiting on all the pirates to move, I'd suggest making several move at the same time so that waiting on pirates never took longer than a second or so.
Here is my island: http://imgur.com/RrbFuc7

Lapiroxx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:40am

Interesting idea, would looove to see this fleshed out a bit more, I think it really has potential. :)

Afendar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:55am

Funny game ! Graphism are good and mechanic is fun ! I like it I have played 1 hour of your game XD.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:06pm

This is an interesting game, requires more thought than it seems at first.
I messed up (more than once...) by losing my life income :D
Your graphic style looks great!

Sound effects and music were really missing, it's best to leave an hour or two for hacking something (anything) in (such as recording silly sfx with a crappy microphone) even at the cost of leaving other stuff out.

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:27pm

@jsmars
Thanks for the feedback! Originally the pirates did move all at once, but that changed in the last few hours due to some problems with the way I was animating them. The mid-late game definitely needs some serious improvements, and also some ways to mix it up so that all islands don't end up as jungle spirals of death.

Epicruins195 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32pm

@ashdnazg
It is way too easy to mess up at the start. Maybe I'll start the game with a forest next to the volcano, or maybe just plant a tree on the volcano. :)

Its a shame about the lack of audio, but I got caught up in fixing bugs with the AI (why did I choose to implement path finding in my first Ludum Dare), and polishing things that really aren't that important (like the UI hover information). I'll be sure to plan out a time frame for my next jam. Thanks for the feedback!

NuclearCellar says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22pm

Very addictive strategy game. Once you realize you build jungles you are unstoppable.

HongerTrollie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:32pm

Lovely game. I like the graphics style. I see you have "removing mountains" in the future direction list... Good idea :)

candlesan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:23am

Great game! Loved the simple graphics, very attractive. The gameplay was interesting! After about 600 turns of creating snaky mazes for the pirates I walled myself in completely to see what happened and they jumped. Lots of fun!

Rodaja says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:27am

Good game! Seems you have most concerns already on your list. I was having a lot of fun creating a spiral of death until I misclicked and created a mountain blocking the path, and then the pirates started to just jump the mountains and ended my plan. Had a lot of fun, as I said, and wish to see this become a full game. Good job!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:24am

pretty nice ;)

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:17pm

This game is quite fun, but needs more tweaking when it comes to difficulty. The game is easy at start, gets too easy in the middle of the game, and is nearly impossible late-game. Loved the design tho

astrophics says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:24pm

Really cool game! Nothing to say about graphics/gameplay, but it would've been nice with audio/music

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]