Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Let it grow

by middenkwaaii - Jam Entry

Have fun! Play the game by getting your pixel bigger. Don't forget to recharge!

This game is made during Ludum Dare 34 in two days
Link to my Ludum Dare entry
Audio: Michiel Nijhof
Game: Ruben Kwaaitaal
Location: Gamestad (Arnhem, The Netherlands)
http://gamestad.co

// Instructions //

Keyboard
Left and right cursor: moving
Up: jump
A: change gravity
S: restart map

Mouse
Left and right click of the player: moving
Click above half screen: jump
Double click: change gravity
Right click: restart map

Touch
Left and right click of the player: moving
Click above half screen: jump
Hold click: change gravity
Right click: ?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#663Innovation(Jam)2.93
#675Audio(Jam)2.40
#764Theme(Jam)3.36
#909Fun(Jam)2.62
#965Mood(Jam)2.32
#970Graphics(Jam)2.25
#1037Overall(Jam)2.59

Comments

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:36pm

This is my first entry. It will be great to get your feedback. Thanks for the great time jamming together with Christa, Rex, Martijn, Dick and Roelf!

zaniarm says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:09am

Great concept. I like the simple graphics and solid gameplay, but the blue square didn't always grow or shrink.

Anyways great job on your first Ludum dare entry. This was also my first entry :).

qkerguelen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:12am

Not bad for a first entry. It could be fun to have new elements going on as the game last. But I had fun ,good job ;)

Pietdagamer says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

I liked the idea you went with, really simple but it can be quite fun!

When gravity is flipped, it seems like the controls are flipped as well. I don't know if this was intentional, but it sure makes the game more difficult :P

AboLD says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:14am

The Idea is great. but u need to polish the controls. if the game has a electronic sound and music it could be more fun. thanks a lot

sichevoid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15am

There were some glitches (the blue square growing/shrinking bug as mentioned above, also it stuck in a corner for a few times), but overall it is a fun little game! I particularly liked the change gravity idea.

dlowe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17am

Fun idea. It wasn't clear whether there were any goals or ways to win/advance the game. And the "change gravity" was really hard to use, because it felt like the controls became reversed. Still, it's an original and fun idea, and thanks for sharing it! :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11am

A few glitches but rather fun concept :) keep up

dodormeur says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:21am

Nice game, but a bit hard to understand. Also, the fact that the left/right key invert on gravity shift is surprising.
Cool concept :)

piper82 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:27am

theres nothing to do when you reach maximum size. some kind of win condition would be nice.

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32am

Confused at first, but still don't know what's the end. Get bigger and bigger, any goals?

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

At the moment the game is endless and pointless. I wasn't sure if it was right to put a timer or highscore in the game ;)

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44am

By the way awesome you guys try my game and comment! ^^

logon13 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:04am

Cute little game for 1 minute of fun

marod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:17am

Simple game but fun for a while!

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:40pm

Implement some concrete goal and I think you have yourself a solid mini game. Simple, but with purpose.

DraKlaW says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 1:57pm

There is some problems with collisions (my pixel just teleport from one side to another of a violet pixel), but nice realisation !

Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Damn! These are pretty unconventional controls! And a bit hard too... But the idea and the concept is nice! Very simple graphics, but efficient.

Decentsauce says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 2:50am

Goed gedaan voor je eerste poging! :) Ben benieuwd naar je volgende game. Vind het leuk om te zien wat een andere Nederlander ervan gebakken heeft bij zijn eerste LD poging. Waren er nog andere games dan deze gemaakt in Arnhem tijdens LD34?

Blobo says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 4:44pm

Sometimes i managed to land on top of the blue square, instantly taking me to the maximum size. pretty neat for your first entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]