Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Accretion Disc

by tgrehawi - Compo Entry

When stars form, heavier materials are flung outward into a disk, from which planets and other celestial bodies coalesce.

Play as a small piece of debris, accumulating mass in an attempt to become a body in a brand new solar system.

Will you succeed? Or will you return to the dust from which you came.

I had a lot of fun putting this together for my first ever game jam. It's very simple, but I'm proud of it nonetheless. Enjoy!

CONTROLS:

Up or W to move, well, up
Down or S to go the other way.

Made with Unity 5

(hosted on itch.io, scroll down for downloads)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#86Graphics4.09
#143Theme4.12
#191Fun3.58
#218Overall3.59
#426Mood3.04
#456Innovation3.19
#553Audio2.48

Comments

Khamekaze says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 11:23pm

Byooooootiful

Eshford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:19am

Nice looking simple game. Great job!

onilink_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:21am

Nice Osmos reinterpretation :D

ianh says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:50am

Stylish! I got 1:36.78 :)

kirilllosev says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:33pm

well done. i like the graphics and how idea and themes (both) work together
i wish controls to be more responsive, tho :)

oal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:21pm

Cool, a fast paced Osmos! Pretty hard, but fun. Good work using both themes. And the art style is gorgeous!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:52pm

nice visuals, very challenging

ripatti says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:53pm

An interesting one. Too bad I cannot hold it for a long time.

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54pm

After I realized that there are indicators that show if I can "eat" debris or if it will destroy me I got a lot better at the game =) It's really fun to play.

djdudes100 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:55pm

great job

Carnivoris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:55pm

Gorgeous game in a genre I enjoy. Well done!

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Very cool and fun implementation of the "agar.io"-genre. You could improve the font a bit (took me about 5 deaths to really notice the onscreen-tutorial). And instead of using the 2-button-theme (you already have growing) I think it would be more useful to build in left and right movement.

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:20pm

Great graphics, tough game but I persevered, being an Osmos veteran. The controls take a bit of getting used to, and that definitely seems to be a negative in most people's eyes. I guess it's part of the nature of Ludum Dare that people get through so many games so quickly that they don't have time to get used to anything that isn't immediately familiar

Miltage says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Very cool. I like that you highlighted the asteroids that were larger than you in red, turns out I'm not very good at judging size.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:08pm

I could play this for a while! strangely soothing. I like the presentation. More audio would have been great! Nice work though.

RhythmLynx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:11pm

Really nice! I kept dying to things I thought should've been fine until I noticed the red outline. Really enjoyed it after that.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:22pm

This is just plain awesome.

Drtizzle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26pm

Very nice looking game! Gameplay is simple but fun.
There is too much randomness to be good at this game, when you're in bad luck you get surrounded by red pieces of debris.

Well done!

Next time please make a WebGL build, so everybody can use their default browser ;)

LittleThor says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:23pm

Nice art style!
I think the level design is based on some randomness, which is pretty sad here because sometimes, the game is just impossible. Enormous "particles" block the way and you just have to wait your death.
Very good work though!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05am

Fun game, but to hard for me, great job.
I would like to take this opportunity to ask a favor. You already rated my game, but I was not allowed "innovation rating." Please could you assess this item now? Take the opportunity to play with some corrections. Very thanks:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=36629

randomhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:55pm

Tough, and somewhat luck based I think, but I kept coming back for more.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:40pm

Beautiful graphics! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/sMG1ENTyKkU

Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:45pm

This is a nice twist on sidescrolling space-shooters, and I'm not even normally a fan of that genre. The graphics are great, the SFX are appealing, and the growth mechanic adds a bit of a difficulty increase. I also felt that you put in a bit of leeway in whether or not your little star-to-be hits something, not the usual "touch something and you die".

Would be nice if you could restart by pressing a button instead of clicking the option. Also, a small problem that might need fixing: it's possible to get knocked back until you're almost off the edge of the screen. Those minor problems aside, this is a very neat and professional game.

emmes says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:40am

Very cool graphics, and a nice idea. Like!

Zanzlanz says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 7:05pm

It's actually really satisfying to play this! I love how the bigger you get, the more of the disc you can see. It seems well balanced, and it's really fun to play. Good job!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 1:57am

nice game)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]