Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

NanoBit

by Weeping Rupee - Jam Entry

- Nanobit is a game about staying small. When you take damage you grow bigger, which could keep you from progressing in the level.

- Gather the five keys and enter the door to finish the level.

- It doesn't say it in game, but it does work with a controller. Honestly this game was made to be played with a D-pad on an Xbox controller. The keyboard controls work but I really suggest plugging in your Xbox controls for this one.

- The yellow pools will shrink you if you are too big.

- This game turned out to be pretty dang difficult in a super meat boy sort of way. There's a pretty steep learning curve but I hope you stick with it :)

- The game probably starts off too difficult. If you're having trouble with the first set of falling spikes, try teasing out the first two by jumping toward them then moving back to the ledge. Then, you can run past the third spike safely.

Update:

I changed some of the damage variables to ease up the difficulty a bit. I also, upon request, made the download a .zip folder instead of an installer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#106Innovation(Jam)3.79
#200Theme(Jam)4.04
#508Overall(Jam)3.33
#515Fun(Jam)3.16
#530Audio(Jam)2.98
#579Humor(Jam)2.55
#580Graphics(Jam)3.32
#627Mood(Jam)3.08

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:51am

I like that you've flipped the cliche idea on its head, so growing is bad. The problem with the Super Meat Boy comparison is having to hit the button to restart makes dying a lot more frustrating than in SMB. But you're certainly onto something here - keep it up!

laxeot says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

I really enjoyed this one!

Vertigon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:53am

It was really hard! I liked the theme of growing due to damage, but if I even took one point of Dmg I couldn't squeeze through the opening at the bottom. Tried about 20 times, wish I could play more.

jayitinc says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:24am

Many games focused on growing being good, so it's interesting to see this play on growing being bad. Found the beginning to be REALLY hard though.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:34am

Very fun and frustrating! The character is a little hard to control at times though.

AriaMK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:45am

Wow. This was pretty challenging. It got me cursing a bunch :)
I probably restarted about 30 times and got to the point of the worm creatures.
I'm looking forward to playing your next game too!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59am

I really liked the premise.

I thought the game was very punishing. Even though there's a whole spectrum of sizes which damage can grow you too if you take any damage at all, it's too much for you to get through the first part. I couldn't get past the first part 90% of the time so I ended up giving up.

The premise was interesting but based on what I played it may as well of been death on hit because being hit once forces you to restart.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00am

I thought the game was very punishing. Even though there's a whole spectrum of sizes which damage can grow you too if you take any damage at all, it's too much for you to get through the first part. I couldn't get past the first part 90% of the time so I ended up giving up.

The premise was interesting but based on what I played it may as well of been death on hit because being hit once forces you to restart.

SpecialChef says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00am

Growing is bad. Love it! Music was nice. Graphics were great. Innovative. Challenging as hell! Ease up on the beginning and offer a more subtle increase in difficulty and you may have a game worth developing further. I really enjoyed this one. Thanks for submitting.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:03am

Also I think a lot of people (me included) would a appreciate a single executable rather than the installer. The compressed zip version tends to work in game maker.

moltanem2000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:09am

I really enjoyed the graphics and gameplay and well done thinking a bit outside the box re: the theme. My only complaint is that at many points in the level taking a single point of damage forces you to restart, which kind of negates the whole cool mechanic you've got going on.

But other than that really enjoyable, and I found myself getting excited whenever I was able to consistently beat a section

Sosolol261 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:56am

Overall a nice game. Got really REALLY frustrated at first though. That 1 part is hell XD.
Also I fixed the updating bug(hopefully). You can try it again if you'd like.

trykondev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Super tough but I'm into it. As a fellow creator of a frustratingly tough game...I salute you

ObsessiveNerd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:31am

Interesting take on the concept! Good job!

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:59am

Yeah, super unforgiving! To get out of the first area you can't get hit by pretty much anything. Frustrating, but it does seem like what you're going for. I do like the idea of growing being an impediment though. Really unique. Good job.

yuotta says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:08am

Overall, this game does have an interesting premise and I like what it's trying to do! The controls felt too tight though. Needed 'W' to be jump and the mouse to move around the screen and shoot!

sonelliot says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:12am

It's hard, but fun. It took me a while to figure out that the yellow liquid makes you smaller. Also, I think I'd prefer it if rather than growing by small amounts you just snap to a larger size. This way it is really obvious if you are too big to fit through the door or not. There were a few times where I 'almost' was small enough but not quite :-\

I really liked the art and music as well. Great work!

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:27am

Cool gameplay, but it is a little bit too hard.

bitdecaygames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:34am

An excellent use of the theme to play on the platformer genre.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:08pm

A cool idea for platforming, nice gameplay, sound and graphics. The topic came perfectly.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:12pm

Was kind of cool but I couldn't play without taking at least one point of damage, I tried a good dozen times but it's too hard :(
Though I liked that you bothered to make the tile sprites random for the levels, good job!

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:33am

Cool stuff! Game maker devs unite! Haha. :) I really like this game! Good work. Great fun with nice graphics. Audio was aight, but not annoying or anything. Also, good idea with the theme.

I just want to say that I tried to see how big I could get and I got so large that the game had me "start" again at the spawn point but all my progress was saved. Interesting little bug.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:17am

"I just want to say that I tried to see how big I could get and I got so large that the game had me "start" again at the spawn point but all my progress was saved. Interesting little bug."

ah ha! see I let my 3 year old son play the game and I looked back and noticed the spikes were gone but he was normal size again at the start of the level-- I was really scratching my head over it. Thank you for that little report haha.

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:23am

Ultimate rage game. I love how you flipped growing to become a bad thing.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:49am

I included your game in my Let's Play Ludum Dare series as thanks for commenting on my game!

You can check out the details here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/2015/12/19/lets-play-ludum-dare-34-episode-01-is-now-uploaded/

sprawl says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:42pm

Very good concept. I couldn't figured out of to get past the part with the worm, I always seemed to be too big even without getting damaged.

Great job. It's very interesting !

Nega Drive says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice idea. Interesting use of the growing mechanic as almost a 'health meter'. Like people have said it's a bit too difficult though, and the game could use some extra easier sections beforehand to ease you into the it. Cute graphics and music though. Pretty good stuff.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Realized I forgot to rate this, so posting again so I can submit my vote. My opinions are reflected in the Let's Play video as mentioned in my post above ;)

nlbi21 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:22pm

Wow this game is very fun, i like it. But, it is a little difficult. Anyways, i like difficult in platformer game. Very well done. :D

Ludipe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:30pm

The growing when you're hit concept was kind of nice, but the game lacks a lot of visual feedback when the player jumps, gets hit or shoots an enemy.

BTW, since you aren't using the mouse to aim maybe shooting could be binded to a key.

g12345 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 10:48am

I love the idea of using growing to make a very unforgiving platformer. Love the idea, and lots of room for improvement (note I'm testing the Jam version.)

Unforgiving platformers are good if you get the controls right, though. The Space key is not a good jump key for such games. In fact I've remapped it when I play this game. Still having to switch to the mouse for shooting when it gets hectic feels like a design error than an unforgiving platformer.

Also, I wouldn't call a game with randomly disappearing floor blocks that are hard to jump onto, "super meat boy sort of way" game, but rather just "unfair because of randomness". Super meat boy might be hard, but theres not much randomness there. Also that game has more checkpoints.

Great usage of theme, but if you've claimed that this is hard but in a hard but _absolutely_not_ super meat boy kinda way then I'd have believed you a lot more. Still, there are lots of ways you can improve upon, so that's fine.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:51pm

@g12345 just wanted to say, since a couple people seem to be missing it, that you can also use the enter key to shoot. You don't have to use the mouse at all. It shows that in the controls at the beginning of the game, but maybe that needs to be made more clear.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:31pm

Also, honestly this game was made to be played with a D-pad on an Xbox controller. The keyboard controls work but I really suggest plugging in your Xbox controllers to experience it right. The keyboard keys were kinda a compromise to begin with...

mekewi says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 1:00pm

i enjoyed this one nice idea

crucknuk says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:02pm

Nice entry! It is innovative and challenging! Just to let you know, I let myself growing two times and it had two different effect: the first time, it restarted; the second time, I became so big that I ended up over the playing area (I could run freely like in the old super mario xD). Anyway, good job ;)

scorched says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Growing by taking damage was one of my ideas for this LD! Cute, that somebody implemented that :-)

napoleon says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:24pm

The controls are not that good, sorry. :/

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 7:03pm

@ napoleon

Just wondering-- did you use xbox controller? Not sure how to message your personally through here.

radmars says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:49am

Really cool concept but yeah, brutally hard. In terms of design, more ways to get smaller would be helpful, since as it stands getting too big is game over except you don't find out until later which feels a bit weird. Regardless this could be really awesome with some tweaking. Nice graphics & music btw. Great work!

Starspell says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 4:24pm

The like the idea of this game. I feel like what is letting it down the most is its level design. It's way too easy to get stuck and be unable to continue. I feel like the pools should not be finite usage items.

Also it was very hard to run and jump at the same time. I feel like the input logic is incorrect there.

I'd love to see what you could have done with the level design with more time.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:33pm

This game was amazing, but also very difficult. The player sometimes get stuck when under water

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Quite long game (for LD) with some balancing issues but with a good idea and usage of theme. I see you added a checkpoint post-LD version which is indeed what I missed after I got pretty far but then got too big and then it's over. Super Meat Boy e.g. is hard but failure only means redoing 5 to 15 seconds of gameplay, here you have to get through everything again.

Nonetheless, a quality entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]