Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Attack of seeds

by fabulis - Jam Entry

Attack of seeds is a simple game inspired by retro game.

You play the role of a small tree who is growing up but unfortunatly some cruel trees want to stop your growth with their seeds attack.Therefore,the only way to grow is to avoid touching them as otherwise you will regress...

You win when you reach 100% of growing but it's very hard.

Play with arrow key.

Don't hesitate to share your record

Good Playing !!!





Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#442Theme(Jam)3.75
#512Humor(Jam)2.65
#839Mood(Jam)2.71
#945Fun(Jam)2.56
#983Overall(Jam)2.71

Comments

Maniac says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:20am

Good idea, but the controls felt a bit floaty, i.e. I kept sliding long after letting go of the key (web version).

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:39pm

I like the mood and graphicis of the game, and the "literal" use of the theme. The physics are well done too. Good job :-)

SayRafon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:48pm

The controls are pretty hard to handle and this seeds falling on you at the speed of light aretoo fast xD But the graphics are really beatiful and the idea is good :)

architect404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:50pm

nice graphics and concept but I found it too difficult; landmines will have to be hit eventually, fast seeds are too unpredictable and hit almost instantly, and there's not enough room to avoid the slow tracking seeds. good effort though!

Cpt. Tinuka says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:38pm

Cool game, good idea, but a little hard. A good begin in the video game conception. You can do better in the future ! Good job !

lurils says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:01pm

very hard, but could develop into a very nice game

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I like the graphics, but I think the seed design is poor. The landmines are unavoidable, and the high speed rockets are too fast to react to. The controls are also off, I'd would benefit from way more friction.

tribrain says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:50pm

Nice way to apply the theme, but i agree with previous comments: it's way to hard and can lead to frustration. I would recommend to put less "follower" seeds because there is a point where is almost impossible to dodge them.

Above all nice game and great idea! Congratz

fabulis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Thanks for your feedback.I agree with you but it was my choice to create an hard game for increasing its interest,so try to get the highest score and share it

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:54pm

It's fun, but I came out of the screen and have gotten infinite points xDD.

PowerSpark says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:00pm

The controls were too floaty and the crazy fast seeds should be less fatal. Otherwise a well made game.

luysse_l says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:04pm

very fun game and i love this graphic, nice work

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:13pm

I liked the mood of the game, and the idea for the game was great! After playing for about 5-10 minutes, the highest score that I was able to manage was ~25-30.
I did feel that the text in game describing the directions should have been in a darker color so that it could have a greater contrast against the white background (I could barely read it). Also, I felt like the landmine seed was a little unfair. It didn't look like there was a way to get rid of the landmine, so when placed the landmine limited how far the tree could move, making it incredibly hard to avoid the tracking seeds.
Good job overall!

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:13pm

I like this game ! graphism are good and clean. good job it's fun !

Haokarlos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:36pm

Made my windows 10 explorer crash fist time opening it ! XD I like the trees pixelart, however the controls and the difficulty is not well polished and most of the time you feel strange playing it.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:02pm

I only ungrew!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]