Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Paul's Game

by Jordan Smith - Jam Entry

This is the story of a scientist who has been caught up in the sadistic games of an artificial intelligence, that holds Britannia's king hostage. Otherwise, it's a puzzle game, where the solution is randomized every time you play.

NOTES: I was overly ambitious with this game, and had too much faith in my ability to get it done in the allotted time. As a result, the game is unfinished, which mostly means art assets are missing (animations, graphics etc). This was my first full Ludum Dare, and now that I understand what I am capable of doing in 72 hours, I hope that next time I will be able to produce a more finished game.

Ultimately, I feel as though this was an excellent learning experience for me, and I look forward to Ludum Dare 35.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#375Humor(Jam)2.89
#672Audio(Jam)2.41
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#799Fun(Jam)2.79
#833Mood(Jam)2.72
#900Graphics(Jam)2.53
#969Theme(Jam)2.89
#1766Coolness39%

Comments

rjvan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:05pm

Nice concept, and quite fun.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:16am

Fun idea. The game mechanics didn't work flawlessly for me but that's not too big of an issue.

DesignerNap says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:58am

Nice idea, would love to see it taken further :)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:43am

Even though I went through the tutorial twice, it was still quite hard for me to pick up!
I got it in the end and it proved to be quite fun, cool entry!
I did have trouble picking up the specimens occasionally.

Neil says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Nice and challenging game.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:16pm

Funny and clevel little game.

WakeOfLuna says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:17pm

Very hard and challenging. Also hard to understand the controls, but grasped it in the end. Pretty nice mastermind game once you get there.

anv says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:39pm

Main idea with figuring out the "rules" was very nice. Actually most difficult part was figuring out machine input format (could use symbols instead of letters), even after watching tutorial. Some music and maybe more SFX would be nice. Overall, solid concept.

Jordan Smith says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:21pm

Is sound not working for you guys? Because sound should be working.

XenosNS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Couldn't quite figure out what to do, but I'll try again later

mockthebear says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Foxtacy: I really like this game, but i found it a little bit too complicated (or perhaps i'm a little bit too dumb to play this hahaha) well done :)

Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:30pm

I am very impressed with this entry. It's an original concept and requires some knowledge to domain the game. Good entry :-)

Rex Peppers says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Can't play windows games. :-(

srakowski says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 12:08am

I didn't really understand what to do... The tutorial screen I saw in your second image never appeared. I really liked the story and the concept though, and the graphics were pretty good. :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]