Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Battletoads Origins

by J-Nat - Compo Entry

As an exotic tadpole you must eat flies to achieve your transformation.
Well, the growing part is not in the game since I don't have anymore time to work on the project right now.

This game was a nice excuse to learn pico-8 and see how I was fitting in the LD constraints, since it's the first time I join the party . I really had a blast !

However, the game is not finished yet, there is nothing to do once you ate all the flies. Next time I'll manage my time and make a complete one.

Controls are C and V to wiggle your tail. That's it...
Eat the flies.

Enjoy !

Big hudge thanks to NuSan and Samh for their good advices and kindness!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#233Theme4.00
#304Humor2.76
#394Graphics3.26
#560Audio2.47
#658Mood2.72
#681Innovation2.79
#750Fun2.74
#849Overall2.74
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

NuSan says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57am

Nice work for a first entry, keep up the good work!

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39pm

after eating the few flys there is nothing lef to do...

it is too bad because i really liked the proposition!

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Seems unfinished as there was nothing to do once you ate the flies, but the controls are fun! And the art is pleasant. :)

J-Nat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Ho yeah, I should have said that in the title (I'll do that). The game is not finished. I'll give it a few more hours so that I can really call it a game ! Thanks for the kind comments !

Geukes Colin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:53pm

Wish you added random flies and growing, would love that. At the moment it just takes a couple of seconds to finish :c Overall good score!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:14pm

simple but fun, could use more levels and maybe some enemies

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

Nice start. My first LD I also had to post an unpolished game. The first is always the hardest!

Benlitz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:27am

Good work! It is a bit difficult to catch bees, sometimes I don't understand why I missed them. I hope you will finish the game :)

J-Nat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52am

Flies are hard to catch because of a bug I corrected yesterday. Collision boxes where not aligned correctly.
I'll update a version but not now, I'll let people vote on the unfinished version ;)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:44pm

It feels like C + V are the wrong way around?

I dig the island art.

J-Nat says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:59pm

Hey, nice ! I was testing my game with X and C from the beginning and I did not notice it was the other way around. One more thing to fix ! Thanks a lot !

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:34am

nice idea - too bad could not add more - good points for theme use and graphics

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:23am

Ahah that was fun but a fly got stuck out of reach... Lucky one !

cacciatc says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:32am

Always fun to play a pico8 entry!

CrispyOwl says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:58pm

Hey I recorded this on a video click here to see it

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VzwlaWdr740

Hope you like it

J-Nat says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 7:50pm

Hey CrispyOwl ! I had a lot of fun watching your video ! Thanks a lot !

SamH says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Pretty decent entry for someone who isn’t really a programmer. Congrats for releasing something! See you next time!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]